Milk


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
February 10th 2006
Published: February 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Because of the many questions I've been asked about lactose and my dependance on the stuff, I have decided to devote a blog to Milk.
As I write this, I got a packet of milk leaning against the window behind the computer.
So yes, there is milk in China, and yes people drink it. Although this milk is different than the kind back home, it satisfies my cravings.
If you were reading closely you noticed I said “a packet of milk.” That’s right. Not a carton, not a jug, not a gallon; but a packet. When they first showed me the packet, I thought it was powdered milk. But, when they handed it to me, I noticed it was heavy and contoured to my hand, like liquid. I knew then and there that, besides the fact it was going to be a tough few days adjusting, it was liquid.
I grabbed the scissors and cut out a corner. With the corner gone, I peered in and noticed the white goodness sloshing around. I lifted the packet to my thirsty lips. I put my mouth around the corner I just cut. I closed my eyes, tilted the bag up with my left hand and awaited the refreshing burst of milk. The refreshment never came. Instead, the bag folded over my left thumb and poured all over my shirt.
My brother got a straw (xi guan, I know this word now) for me. I drank maliciously. The milk has a weird aftertaste. It is gone if I plug my nose; other than that it was just what I needed. What’s funny, you have to drink most of it when you first get it, otherwise you won’t be able to put it down without spilling it all over the place.
Also, they don’t keep the milk packets (which you can buy one at a time, or in a box) in the fridge. They keep them in the Hall way…they are still fresh and cold when we drink them though.
Oh, leave more comments….


Advertisement



11th February 2006

hmmm....
dude, supposedly there are studies that have shown that the hormones in milk can give you boobs.
11th February 2006

I had been concerned about the milk situation - good to know that's all set. Are you starting classes soon, or is it still New Year?
11th February 2006

Milk packets are for fags
Heh, I picture you going through a withdrawal after weeks without milk...and a third of the Chinese population is wiped from the Earth as a result. And: Post the reason for the packets instead of the cartons in a later entry. ...is Elliot dead...
11th February 2006

Moo
I'd just like to point out that the advertisment at the top of this page is for "unique milk carton holders". Anyway, glad you found a fix for your milk dependency.
12th February 2006

YAY MILK!
you just brought back some lovely milk memories I had when i was in china and was a wee one. (6 years old) i don't really remember much except that they're packets and i'm glad to hear that they're still packets. :)
12th February 2006

I drink milk here. Like real milk from a carton and everything. You should try it some time. ^.^
14th February 2006

Milk in China
Hi, Luke This is Jun, a Chinese works in the same firm with your father. I've been tracing your jourals since Dough gave me the link. It's pretty funny!:) Also a tip for the milk. You can find plenty of milk in cartons or jars in the supermarket, if you really want something like that. Hope you have fun in Beijing! And keeps telling us your story.
15th February 2006

well, its good to know that your cravings are satisfied. how about your other cravings? i must know. i think we need a blog on the whole asian booty situation. oh, and have u been to a fortune cookie factory yet. those r cool.

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0391s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb