The Family


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
February 4th 2006
Published: February 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I think I got lucky with the family situation…I have heard stories from the other exchange students of crazy mothers and psycho fathers. I, on the other hand, could not be happier with the family I was chosen to live with.
I had already met my younger brother, Hans, in America during his four month stay. He is my height, but not as large. He is younger than me, but more mature and responsible.
From looking at the father, I understand where Han’s goofiness comes from. He is so easy going and laughs at almost everything. Hans, Baba (daddy) and I played Risk together one day and Baba loved every minute of it, even when he was losing horribly. He works at the Electronic Store at the bottom of our apartment. Hans told me that Baba investigates airplane disaster; he is the guy who listens to Black Boxes after an accident.
My host mother is the cutest thing in the world. Very hospitable and easy-going, She laughs at anything I say. It is a shame that on a recent Skiing trip she fractured her knee, and she has been hopping from one couch to another watching TV. She should be better in two weeks.
We had my mothers parents (Grandpa and Grandma) staying with us for a few days during the Chinese New year, but they left after Mama busted her knee. Grandpa is great: he helps around the house, talks to me, helps other people. Granny on the other hand…The funniest thing in the world must be watching Granny and I try to have a conversation. She always starts it by mumbling some nasal sounds. I’ll say shen me? (what). She will squeak a low huh? and look at me. I will pause, open my dictionary and pronunciation as clearly as possible, “I cannot hear you?” She will look at me. Just look. (I think she forgot what she was doing). I stick my nose in a book and prays she stops looking at me and finds something else to do. I can’t leave…that would be rude.
Because of the one-child policy, this is as large as a family is going to get…unless you have some pets.
They have a large (my guess is that it is 70 gallon) aquarium filled with fish. They also have two turtles that they keep in a separate, small aquarium with only rocks for them to entertain themselves with.


Advertisement



5th February 2006

Hahahah I cracked up when I pictured Granny just staring at you. Sounds like a really nice family. Except for the turtles, they must be pretty grumpy.. Chris
5th February 2006

Luke
So Luke, the other day at lunch we were talking about (good things, don't worry) and there was a general consensus that you would definitely be bringing a small chinese girl with you back home. Pick a good one for us, ok?
6th February 2006

dont go to china
"He is my height, but not as large. He is younger than me, but more mature and responsible." thanks, luke.
7th February 2006

There's a red under your bed.
Seems like an interesting situation worthy of it's own sitcom. Sounds like fun. And I bet you let Baba take Asia.
7th February 2006

luke! eric showed me this. you dont seem like a journal person. i saw g in the hall today. um. and mr.stark said you called to say "haha" to us because we had to do the essay test last week. but i think he was kidding. because calling from china would not be cheap. this is such a pointless comment. oh. are chinese people lactose intolerant? and remember. they just want your green card.
8th February 2006

Hi Luke!!!!!!!!
Hey Luke!!!!!! I just discovered this blog. pretty cool, man. i'm sitting at mickays, very much enjoying not doing my homework. i'm working on directing Steel Magnolias, which Steph got into by the way! Much harder than i expected, but unbelievable! China sounds AMAZING, i'm so happy that your family is working out. they sound so cute! I miss you! We all do, newton is not the same without you! enjoy china! xoxoxoxo caroline
9th February 2006

dont go to china
hello luke, lori and i will be departing in 3 days for italy and hope to meet you in bulgaria or romania. also, dont go to china.
14th February 2006

LUKE! Newton is simply not the same without you... math is so boring, even though you usually sat in the back. We miss you terribly... sounds like you're having an amazing time and I'm so glad!! Keep up the good work. :-) Lots of love

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0477s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb