Fun In Beijing


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
February 3rd 2006
Published: February 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post


There is definitely no lack of fun for an American boy in Beijing. I haven’t had a dull moment since the plane. Whether downtown, outside Beijing, or even at home there is always something to do. Everything is different; so, everything is interesting.
It takes about 40 minutes to get downtown from where I live (I live on the 3rd ring road around the center). I, still holding the hand of my host brother, go to the train station down the street. Hop on an inbound train and ride it two stops to the end of the line. Here, I’ll transfer onto the blue loop line and ride it a couple stops. There are hundreds if not thousands of bus routes in Beijing, and, because I can’t read place names yet, I’m not going to be taking a bus alone for a while. But, because my brother is holding my hand, he will find the right bus stop and make it my job to read the number of the bus. After a bumpy ride, I’ll be at the entrance to the Forbidden city in front of Chairman Mao’s portrait.
Hans and I did this the first full day I was in Beijing. Once there, we walked around Tiananmen Square, observing the different kinds of kites flying overhead. We walked up to Mao’s Mausoleum, the Museum of the Chinese Revolution, and the Gate of Heavenly Peace. After we got tired, we walked into a MacDonald’s for a drink and fries.

Oh, and yes, it took me like 3 days to write this…I think I will make the next blog about this length.


Advertisement



3rd February 2006

holding hands with Hans. no comment
3rd February 2006

..
hey do they have pets and stuff?
5th February 2006

hahaha. holding han's hand. that's very cute.

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0386s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb