I've arrived!!!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
January 18th 2006
Published: January 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well ok I arrived a few days ago, but this is the 1st hance I've had to come on.
All is well. My journey here was relatively stress free, although a little boring. Slept a lot of the way on the plane so I've not suffered too badly with jet lag, which has been cool.
Got here midday Monday and had a wander round, managed to get my self to Tiannamen (sp) square, which was pretty cool, no tanks though. After that went back to the hostel I'm staying in, met the rest of my group, who are all cool, then went for a meal.
My god is this place cheap. About 9 of us went for a meal, had about 10 courses between us, drinks etc, it was less then 20quid, bargain. Before anyone ask yes I have found Mcd's, there's one round from the hostel and KFC, but I've not been yet. :-) Beers cheap too, about 30p a bottle, so been making the most of that.
Yesterday I went on a tour of the Forbidden City (where the old rulers lived). It was pretty good, but not as amazing as I thought. Went for a tea ceremoney later which was kind of cool, then dinner in the eve with the other people. Had the best Peiking duck ever. Mmmmm!!!!!!
Today I went to the Summer Palace, again where the old rulers lived. That was pretty spectacular, got some good pics. This eve been to see a Kung Fu show, similar to the Shoalin Monks. It was awesome, really cool seeing do all this Kung Fu, smashing slabs etc.
Just going to chill tonight, got an early start for the Great Wall tomorrow, that should be good, apart from the 10K walk and it's supposed to be -15C (Shit).
Really enjoying it o far, it's a wicked place, so different to anywhere else, get starred at all the time as I'm Western (and so good looking), but not had any try to get thir pic with me, although others have.
Not sure when I'll be on next as going to more rural areas, so hope your all good and speak to you soon.

Advertisement



23rd January 2006

Food diary
It's like an e mail from Will with a rundown of the weekend's food lol. You'll have an even bigger moon face when you get back ;o)

Tot: 0.186s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1623s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb