Chinese Military Museum


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
July 26th 2008
Published: July 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Chinese Military MuseumChinese Military MuseumChinese Military Museum

Big pieces of metal that moves and makes loud noises.
Today, I woke up at about 5:30. I have fully recovered from jet lag too. Yesterday night, we went to Wangfujing Street and visited the Beijing Olympic Souvenir Flag Store. Inside, was buzzing with people. I bought a small hat that had the five Fuwas on it. I also bought a shirt and a towel. Inside, there were so many Fuwa Souvenirs like shirts, mugs, hats, and other stuff. There was also a whole room just for plush dolls too.
Today, my other grandparents are going to pick me up at 8:00 to go to the Chinese Military Museum. As usual, I had my breakfast consisting of one honey spread toast, one butter toast, a piece of ham, and some peaches. Today, I don’t have tennis either. For the past few days, I have made a lot of friends at the tennis class. I also found out that the kids there are much better than me in hitting hard and positioning the ball, but I can beat almost all of them in sprints, suicides, or running. At around 8:00, my grandparents called us and told us that they were here. Nowadays, you have to book a museum. A year ago,
DF-1 MissileDF-1 MissileDF-1 Missile

Big BOOM
you had to pay to go in. But since there are so many people for the Olympics, you have to reserve a visit beforehand. I had to bring my passport, camera, and a book just in case I get bored while my grandparents are taking their afternoon nap. As usual, when we got onto the road, it was full of different bicycles. We passed the Tianmen Plaza on our way to the museum. For the Olympics, flower hangings and designs are placed across the plaza. One was in the shape of the “Bird’s Nest”. When we arrived at the museum there was a long line to the ticket stand. The museum hadn’t opened yet. While we waited, I drank some water and read my book. A couple minutes later, the doors opened and everyone started pushing and squeezing to get to the ticket booth. One young kid even tried to push me out of the line but he couldn’t even make me budge. After we got our tickets, we headed into the museum. Inside, we were greeted by a humongous statue of Mao Zedong. To our right, was a big T-99 tank. Its barrel was probably twice the size of a school locker. Obviously, it was smaller than a Sherman tank. As we made our way into the hall full of tanks, AAs, Howitzers, mortars, fighter planes, and whatever big moving piece of metal that kills people. There was also a big DF-2 towering over everything. My grandfather studied bombs in college, and my grandmother studied gunpowder. My grandfather told me a lot of things about China’s military and wars. Upstairs, grandparents were too tired to walk any more so they let me wander on the second floor while they rested. On the second floor, there were all types of guns and bombs. It even had an atomic bomb case on display. Why biggest question is how they got the missile, tanks, and planes into the big hall? Do you know?
At my other grandparents home, I read a book while they slept. I also watched a Chinese kids channel similar to Nickelodeon. When they woke up, my grandfather switched through the channels and found Titanic playing on one of the channels. We watched the movie for the rest of the time. At the end of the movie, my grandparents sent me home so I could have my grandmother’s special meat and sugar pancakes. They’re not like the pancakes we have in the US.
Once my grandparents delivered me home, I saw my grandmother cooking already. I offered to help, but she said she was fine. Instead, she asked me to practice my piano. My mom wants me to play Rondo ala turca by Mozart for the piano, so I tried it and felt pretty good with it. At dinner, my grandmother’s meat and sugar pancakes tasted great. So delicious.
Tomorrow is Sunday and we don’t know what to do yet. Hopefully, we can go to another museum or park.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0354s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb