Tips for staying in Beijing


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
June 21st 2008
Published: June 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post







Well, I have had some observations in my short time here.

1. The painted stripes in the streets for lanes, are mere suggestions for the taxi drivers.
2. Drive with your window down so you can honk as well as yell at the same time.
3. The Chinese are obviously minimalist. The apartment doe not have a closet or extra cabinets other than the kitchen and no dressers. It's a drastic change from visiting Laurens apartment at college with the volumes of STUFF she had there to trying not to have more than you "need" here. Although in the true spirit of Lauren, I notice she has a "heathy" stash of shoes and purses...........still quite American at heart!!
I am sure we could learn a lot about that philosophy however I NEED A DRAWER for pete's sake!!

I asked Lauren to teach me a couple of words so I can get by during my time alone. I wanted to learn "thank you" for all the times I anticipate assistance in my journeys alone which is pronounced by saying the letters: C A C A spoken very fast. How it is actually spelled is anyones guess. She however felt it important to teach me the word pronounced Boo Yow (rhymes with cow), what does that mean you ask? NOT WANTED . Apparently, Chinese are quite the salesmen and will follow tourist around to sell them just about anything, this reality does nothing for my confindence in getting around alone, however I am happy to have th knowledge.

More later,
Karen



Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0328s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb