My Summer Non-Vacation


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
August 14th 2007
Published: August 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

English Camp meets Lord of the FliesEnglish Camp meets Lord of the FliesEnglish Camp meets Lord of the Flies

Believe it or not, they were doing the Bunny Hop.
Here it is, the middle of August. The summer has just flown by! I spent 3 weeks in Weifang, Shandong Province as the “foreign teacher manager” for a summer English camp at Weifang #1 Middle School. This was the first year CTLC worked at WF #1 and I was sent to make sure things went according to plan. Boy, did they not! Let’s just say that it was…an experience. And we’ll leave it at that. The other day, my boss said, “You know, we thought it would be a nice, cushy, easy job for you to end your time in China. Sorry about that.”

The other 30 foreigners working the camp and I survived and we were treated to a 10-hour bus ride from Weifang to Beijing. (Chalk that up under “…an experience.”) We’ve spent the past two weeks at beautiful Beijing University. I love Beijing! And I love Beijing University! The first time I ever came to China was the summer of 1998 and I came to Beijing University (known here as BeiDa) on a short-term language program through my university. I think it’s rather fitting that some of my last memories of China come from the same place as my first. The weather has been absolutely wonderful. Beijing in August is generally uncomfortably hot and humid; but not this year. It was actually pleasant and breezy for the first week we were here. Now, the hot weather is back, but it isn’t as awful as normal. My Chinese friend and colleague Robert (obviously that’s his English name) told me that it is nice this year because it is already autumn according to the Chinese traditional calendar. Apparently, all the seasons came a bit early this year. I’m not familiar what makes it autumn in the traditional calendar and not in the modern (Western) calendar, but I think those ancient Chinese astronomers knew their stuff.

Another odd thing about this year (for me) is that I am not in charge and half the time I don’t have anything to do. I’m supposed to be helping my replacement, James, learn the ropes, but he’s got a pretty good handle on things. I don’t even know half the new teachers’ names! Usually I know them before they step off the plane on Day 1! It’s a very odd feeling. On one hand, I feel a bit lost and useless; on
Weifang Kite MuseumWeifang Kite MuseumWeifang Kite Museum

Weifang is the Kite Capital of the World! The have a fabulous kite museum. Here's the lobby.
the other hand, I’m relishing in the freedom of answering every question with, “I don’t know. I’m not in charge. Go ask James.” I feel really sorry for James, though. Poor guy. I’m supposed to be helping him through the stress of everything, but I don’t think I’m doing a very good job. If he was a girl, I’d buy him ice cream, take him for a facial, and sit quietly next to him while we watched mindless chick flicks. But, he’s not a girl. I did buy him milk tea and sat next to him while we watch Transformers in Chinese. (A lot of that movie got lost in translation, I think.) I don’t know what to do in replacement of a facial, though…Anyway, I think he’s doing a much better job handling everything than I did my first year. I’m pretty sure there was a moment where I lost it completely and my head spun around. His head is still firmly attached (as far as I know). Although, yesterday evening, he did start singing “Yo ho ho, a pirate’s life for me!”

Here are some pics from the past few weeks. My camera is still broken, so
Olympic Friendlies KiteOlympic Friendlies KiteOlympic Friendlies Kite

Here's a kite featuring the 2008 Beijing Olympic mascots - the Friendlies. Notice how the one in the uppper right is shooting the big one in the middle.
these were all taken with my cell phone. Pardon the graininess.


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Beautiful ChalkboardBeautiful Chalkboard
Beautiful Chalkboard

Beautiful chalkboard work by Ms. Catherine, one of our new teachers. Everybody look - this is an example of how to effectively utilize chalkboard space.
BonfireBonfire
Bonfire

End-of-camp Bonfire. Something I never expected to see in China.
Bonfire (close-up)Bonfire (close-up)
Bonfire (close-up)

End-of-camp Bonfire. Anyone can have a great bonfire if you use enough gasoline.
Me in Qingdao at Youth SquareMe in Qingdao at Youth Square
Me in Qingdao at Youth Square

Sen says this isn't a flattering picture. I'm not saying it's flattering, but it is the most flattering from the entire day. Like I said, it wasn't an easy three weeks.
QingdaoQingdao
Qingdao

Famous view
Qingdao in high seasonQingdao in high season
Qingdao in high season

Look at all those people on that bridge! And yes, I was crazy enough to go down and walk with them! I've been to Qingdao during low season, and it's soooo much more pleasant being the only person on the bridge.
Me on the Great WallMe on the Great Wall
Me on the Great Wall

I counted and this was my 9th visit to the Great Wall. I love the Great Wall!
View from the Great WallView from the Great Wall
View from the Great Wall

It was a gorgeous day!
View from the Great WallView from the Great Wall
View from the Great Wall

I "warmified" it so that you could see the mist. It was like a painting.
View from the Great WallView from the Great Wall
View from the Great Wall

Looking out from one of the watchtowers.
View from the Great WallView from the Great Wall
View from the Great Wall

Apparently, I had a spot on my lens.
View from the Great WallView from the Great Wall
View from the Great Wall

Last one, I promise. I really wish I'd known about that spot...
Phila and JonathanPhila and Jonathan
Phila and Jonathan

Two new teachers, relaxing after the climb down from the Great Wall. Gotta love the hats!


Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 16; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0883s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb