I live in a Grant Wood painting


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Iowa » Des Moines
September 20th 2007
Published: September 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Max and IMax and IMax and I

Mom's new dog Max and I hanging out in the front yard. He likes to chase sticks.
Here I am, back in the U.S.A.! It's very strange trying to adjust back to my own culture. My stomach doesn't like the food, my mind is on language overload, and even after 3 weeks, I can't get over how terrible American television is. Seriously.

I'm quite excited that I'm back in Iowa for the autumn. I haven't been in Iowa at this time of year for 11 years. I had forgotten how beautiful everything is during harvest season. I really do live in a Grant Wood painting. When I first arrived, everything was still very green. But, one week later, it all started to change. The corn turned golden brown, the beans turned mustard tinged with purple, some of the fields have been harvested so they are the black of good Iowa nutritious soil (a friend of mine from the South once visited and said, "Wow! The dirt here is so black!" Yes, it is, and it's soil, not dirt!), and today the trees have started to turn red, yellow, and orange. I hope to get some pictures up of the gorgeous fall foliage next week. I've been so captivated by the beauty of the countryside that Mom complains about my driving. "Keep your eyes on the road!" I can't help it. It's all so beautiful! I want to capture it in my memory before it fades away into the dull brown of winter.

I was also able to enjoy some Iowa sweet corn a few days after I got home. I was completely surprised, as it seemed too late for sweet corn season. Iowa sweet corn is the best in the world and I've been called a corn snob because I refuse to eat corn on the cob from other locations. I can't help it! I know that any other corn is not going to meet my standards, so why bother? Anyway, I was able to buy a dozen ears on the very last day that the local farmer was selling. Oh, my goodness, it was so delicious! I could tell that it was late corn and not the best of the season, but it didn't matter. It was still great! And then last week I was able to buy apples fresh from the local orchard. Random fact: Iowa used to be the top apple-producing state until a freak ice storm killed all the trees about a
Penoach VineyardPenoach VineyardPenoach Vineyard

Relaxing at the vineyard, listening to the band, and enjoying the wonderful Iowa weather.
hundred years ago. There really is nothing quite as perfect as an apple fresh from the orchard. Yum!

I've been cooking up a storm, trying to get all the foods that I've missed while in China. I ate Mexican for the first three days and have now moved on to Italian. Last night I made stuffed bell peppers and they were tasty. I also made apple crisp with some of the fresh apples. Mmmm, so good!

I've been job searching and trying to sort out my life, but I've managed to have some fun as well. While I was in China, one of the local farmers turned his land into a vineyard and winery. They hosted a wine-tasting and music day a couple weekends ago. The wine is much better than I expected and it was great fun hanging out in the lovely weather, chatting with friends, drinking wine, and listening to a wonderful local cover band. (The winery is Penoach Vineyard and the band was Exit 113. I recommend them both.) I've also been shopping and seeing family, both of which are always fun activities. And the job search...well, it goes on. I interviewed with a place
ButterfliesButterfliesButterflies

The butterflies love these flowers in Mom's garden
this week and I'm really hoping to get it. I'll be sure to fill you in on all the details if it comes through.

My camera is still broken (I've been lazy about getting it fixed), but here are some pics that I took with my cell phone camera of Mom's flower garden. Enjoy!



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Volunteer StrawberriesVolunteer Strawberries
Volunteer Strawberries

Mom didn't plant them, but they came up.


26th September 2007

Dawn in paradise
It all looks like a paradise, lucky you. Your mum is really gifted at gardening, lovely flowers.
8th October 2007

Zionks!!!!
Holy crap!!! How did I NOT know you were back?!?!?! Anyways...drop me a line! We can do dinner or something like that...I'm sure I can "dump the kiddos" with your ma! lol
26th October 2007

American University
Hey Dawn, This is Zack Kassim from American University. I am now living in Des moines, Iowa. Listen email me if you are around. I would love to catch up. The last I know....you told me you were headed to China. Welcome back. I was in Sudan and so many other places

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 30; dbt: 0.026s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb