Summer Camp, and Things I forgot!!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
June 27th 2005
Published: June 27th 2005
Edit Blog Post

As this title suggests, I have had the brain of a goldfish, and completely forgot to mention that I had visited Tiananmen Square and a Night Market on Saturday with three of my newfound friends. That's not to say that the place bored me in any way - I felt uncomfortable taking my video/digital camera to the market, and therefore took pictures on a disposable camera.

Mao Ze Dong's portrait was huge!! I didn't like how his eyes looked down on you from the building. The area at night was wonderful, as the buildings were all lit up.

On the more interesting topic, for people who know me well - yes I did try some of the food on offer, and yes, surprisingly I enjoyed one item, and managed (almost) to eat it using chopsticks. I think chopsticks were designed to give Westerners hand cramp, as my hand practically folds in two in order to grip the food between the two sticks.

The Summer Camp kicked off today, with the Opening Ceremony beginning at 9am. Quite a lot of the students were reading books and magazines, but as soon as the former president of Georgia State University began to speak, the vast majority were paying attention - I guess it's because they're not used to hearing a non-Chinese voice speaking in English.

Several people talked about how they hope the Camp will lead to the students improving their English, and to new friendships that may arise over the next three weeks. I am enjoying meeting new people, even those from the States and other parts of the UK, not just those volunteers from China.

The first 'proper' lessons begin tomorrow, where the song for the chorus of each class will be selected and practised ready for the 'city' competition on Thursday - I've got my work cut out for me!!

I'll be typing away the events of the week after making my essential tourist visit to the Great Wall - so expect a very very long message, and several photographs on Sunday!!

:D

Advertisement



30th June 2005

hello!
Sarah, it sounds like you're having a fantastic time - I'm terribly envious! Take plenty of photos, as I'll be hoping for a guided tour when you get back! And if you're very lucky, I might even bore you with historical Chinese demography...;-)

Tot: 0.176s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0504s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb