Beijing


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
October 1st 2006
Published: November 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Summer PalaceSummer PalaceSummer Palace

Sun setting - View from boat
Day Three: I was staying at the Red Lantern Hostel in the traditional neighborhoods called the Hutongs. Great place (except they only have one female toilet!) but they were going to put me in a mixed dorm. I opted to 'splurge' on the Holiday Inn. Actually, it was a great hotel, great location, and a very decent rate (60 bucks). I took the bus to the zoo. I got lucky & stood by a Chinese girl who spoke English and was getting off at the same stop. I found the Chinese to be very curious, friendly, and helpful during the whole trip. Anyway, I didn't spend a long time at the zoo. It was kind of depressing. Didn't see the pandas. My aim was to get a boat to the Summer Palace, which I did do. I met another English teacher on the way and we hung out together all afternoon.

The Summer Palace is really beautiful. There are many ancient buildings, lakes, boats, paths. All very nice. We just wandered around for a few hours.



Additional photos below
Photos: 2, Displayed: 2


Advertisement

Summer PalaceSummer Palace
Summer Palace

View of the lake


Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 38; dbt: 0.0295s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb