Greetings from China!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing » Tian'anmen
June 8th 2011
Published: June 8th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hey guess what? I'M IN CHINA!!!

Sorry to those of you who asked me to update facebook as soon as I arrived, but facebook is one of a long list of sites blocked by the government in China. So I won't be updating for a while! Which is annoying because all the people who wanted postcards sent me their addresses on there... So umm, send me an email or a message on here with your address if you want a postcard?

Anywho, I arrived yesterday afternoon after a very smooth journey, no delays etc and was met at the airport by Ralph. Alas my giant rucksack prevented me from doing the whole 'running and jumping into his arms' thing. I totally would have otherwise.

He lives in the China Communication University (yes that's it's real name. It's like a whole uni for media studies!) so we headed back there, dumped my bag and then went for a wander around the streets nearby. I have to say it reminds me a lot of Paraguay, not just because it's stinking hot, but the markets in the street and the general look of houses and stuff is very similar. I was quite shocked by how third world-y the whole place is, I was expecting Beijing to be all ultra sleek skyscrapers since it's the capital. There's a bit of that, but there's also a lot of poverty. I suppose like any city.

Last night there was a massive thunderstorm which I completely slept through and missed. I must have been *really* tired after the flight (I didn't manage to sleep much).

Today we went to Tian'anmen Square which was a really interesting experience. There are security cameras everywhere and Ralph assured me that there were an equal number of microphones and that if we were to mention certain events then it wouldn't take long for a police officer to come over and make life difficult! It was really strange emotionally to be there knowing what took place, and seeing hundreds of Chinese tourists there who possibly didn't know anything about it. Ralph said he has Chinese friends here who haven't got a clue as to the full extent of what happened. Which is just mind boggling.

Anyway, I took the usual cheesy tourist photos which I can't actually upload right now because I'm at the school where Ralph teaches English so don't have the cable for my camera with me.

After that we went to this really cool little market in some back streets which is just so how I imagined China. Then went to a really big modern shopping centre (pretty much just to sit in the air conditioning for a while) which was an interesting contrast.

So now I'm sat at the school while Ralph teaches. And that, ladies and gentlemen, has been my first day and a half in China. Ralph and I have been attempting to book flights to Tokyo in July but the website keeps crashing. Boo.

Tune in next time for more exciting adventures in China!

Advertisement



8th June 2011

Helloooo missus!
I am loving Andrea in your place - she misses you!!! IMISS YOU!!! Loving your blog - you are getting busy very fast, look forward to more stories - take care of your elves - love louisa and Andrea

Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0826s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb