China!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing » Tian'anmen
June 16th 2007
Published: June 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

ITs been a while since I have posted, but I have been busy in China, teaching and sigh seeing! I don't have any photos to post today, but trust me- my camera has over 300 pics ready to be posted!

So far, its been great, and with one more week to go I think I will be sad to leave.

It feels like we have been here for so long. We've been to the Great Wall, Forbidden City, Temple of Heaven, Terra Cotta Warriors, Summer Palace, Big Wild Goose Pagoda and some tombs. ITs overwhelming. Standing in Tianamen Square was a bit crazy and amazing. So much history, it really reminds me how young Canada is.

The markets have been a blast too. Bartering and bargaining seemed unnatural at first, but man have I become good at it! And there is a place across the street from our hotel that sells big beer bottles for 2 Yuan, which is about 30 cents.

IT hasn't been all shopping and 2 Yuan beer= the teaching has been amazing too. I have a class of 18 students of mixed ability. They all have big personalities, so the games we play are hilarious. Their English is getting better which is great to see. They are very excited to host the Olympics next year. Last night I went to a student's house for dinner, and as it turns out they took us out to a fancy restaurant right near Tianamen Square for a "hot pot" kind of like fondue. They gave me some beautiful presents- oh and did I mention it was in a private room? How fancy is that? They had me at hello. (or Ni Hao)

So, I am gearing up for my last week of teaching. Tonight I am meeting up with a friend from Guelph and her husband. Tomorrow we are seeing some bridge and then I will come back to lesson plan! This next week includes a kareoke night and a banquet. We leave Friday and have an overnight plane to Sydney. Then I am on vacation for a month! ITs my mid-semester break and Naeem is coming to visit! Its going to be such a blast.

So thats it from here. CHina is AMAZING. A little overwhelming, but totally enthralling.

Lots of love from Beijing!

Adam

Advertisement



17th June 2007

Adam, I love to read all about your travel adventures. You're living the life I want for Rae...maybe some day... Enjoy your time off...and how cool is it that Naeem is going to visit you? I'll send my hugs.

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.034s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0267s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb