Giving Water for Lemonade: Our Last Day in China (for now)


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing » Haidian district
June 29th 2014
Published: June 29th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Hua ShanHua ShanHua Shan

Jordan, Cindy, Mara, Joel, and us.
Rain poured down the windows as our train left the Xi’an station. Our last moments with our new friends had come to an end. I have been searching for the right words all week to express how I feel, but there just aren’t any. The best way I can think to explain how I feel is through water and lemonade:



I came to China with a big vessel of water ready to share that water with whomever I met. With every smile, every hug, every “ni hao” I gave a little more water. I gave a glass of water to the lady selling baozi everyday I walked by her shop. I gave a glass of water to the lady on the 34 hour train ride home from Harbin. I gave a glass of water to our beloved friend Sherry, who knocked on our door one day looking for some Americans to teach her English. I gave water to our wonderful friends at church every Sunday and throughout the weeks as we would meet up and have dinner and laugh about some of the terrors of living in China. I gave water to Snow, the five year old girl
Jillian and Xu DongJillian and Xu DongJillian and Xu Dong

The cutest couple ever. We love them so much.
to whom we pretended to teach English, but instead played games or sang songs the whole time. I gave water to our classmates and teachers as we, too, laughed and talked about the adventures China gave us. I gave water to each of the little restaurant owners on the street by our school every time we walked in with a smile. I gave water to the maids in our building hoping that someday they could feel of their significance. I gave water to my friend Jillian who spoke to me so patiently through the year to help me with Chinese. I gave water to the lady in the Muslim street who sells Christian calligraphy. I gave water to all the little children who stared and yelled “外国人!” (foreigner!) as I passed by with a smile. I gave water to the adults who stared and yelled “外国人!” as I passed by with a smile. I gave water to all the cute girls in my English class as I taught them about how to live a happy life. I gave water to our beautiful friend Mara, who comes from Italy, as we talked about life, decisions, and simply exchanged smiles. I gave
Patty!Patty!Patty!

We love her so much!
water to my wonderful husband as we shared in challenges, adventures, happiness, sadness and faith in the future.

And now it is time for me to return to America to get more water to share.

But do you know the amazing thing about giving water? With every glass of water given, I received a glass of delicious, perfectly sweet, ice-cold lemonade in return.

I received lemonade from the baozi lady who waved at me every time I passed by. I received lemonade from my dear teacher, Zhang laoshi, who took such care of us through this whole year. I received lemonade from my foreigner friends as they shared their hopes and dreams with me. I received lemonade from Sherry who helped me whenever I needed it and always made me laugh. I received lemonade from Sherry’s cute mom who took us out dancing and made us delicious food. I received lemonade from Jillian who has such a sweet spirit and is always willing to help. I received lemonade every Sunday at church as I gained strength from listening to the testimonies and experiences of those so dear to us. I received lemonade from our friends Tiffany and
PollutionPollutionPollution

We all wore masks to school because of pollution. From left to right: Leo (Brazil), Veronika (Ukraine), me, Jarek, Isabelle (Belgium), Martin (Belgium).
Javad who showed us how to be strong and move forward no matter your circumstances. I received lemonade from Snow who, though she didn’t ever want to study hard, always made me laugh and smile and never hesitated to share her chocolate with me. I received lemonade from the old ladies dancing in the park. I received lemonade from Lilly and her sweet parents who were so loving towards each other when they took us to a beautiful park. I received lemonade from Peter, Eric, Amy, Rush, and Leon who came to our music class each Saturday and taught us how to be better teachers. I received lemonade from Abbas from Pakistan who I met on the bus one day. I received lemonade from Mara who has the most beautiful smile and the sweetest eyes and kindest spirit. I received lemonade from the lady in the Muslim Street who showed such faith and perseverance to all those she met. I received lemonade from the handicapped children that we visited who had the most wonderful smiles and light in their eyes. I received lemonade from Patty and John Donohoe who took us in so many nights when we didn’t have water
Wang ZhenWang ZhenWang Zhen

This is our friend who Jarek baptized in France. He picked us up in Beijing when we first arrived and we went and visited his family for Spring Festival.
or electricity or when we just wanted to talk. I received lemonade from the old man who walks around our campus every day with his cane. I received lemonade from the man who helped us find our way to church the first Sunday we were in Xi’an. I received lemonade from Joel, the ultimate missionary, every time he told a story or simply said hello. I received lemonade from Cindy and Jordan who took us in like their own children here in China and let me learn from their strong examples of faith. I received lemonade from the maids in our building whose smiles got bigger and bigger as the year went on. I received lemonade from the man on the train to Beijing who was a great example of a loving father and husband in a country that teaches otherwise. I received lemonade from each loving kiss on the cheek from those people I have grown to love so dearly this year. I received lemonade from my husband who never let go of me when I was down and pushed me higher when I thought I couldn’t do more. But most importantly, I received lemonade from Jesus Christ, who
Adorable SherryAdorable SherryAdorable Sherry

And all the food her mom made for us.
walked this path before I even got here and walked each step with me along the way. He opened doors I thought I wasn’t prepared to enter and gave me the courage to go through. I gave all I had and He gave me so much more in return.

Forgive me for the length and specificity of this blog entry; it is all I can do to explain the feelings I have of leaving this wonderful country. Living here has changed me in more ways than I can explain. I am not the same as I was a year ago. I thought that knowing I will return would make it easier to leave, but my capacity to love has grown so much that I feel I am leaving a bit of my heart in Xi’an. The people and faces are all a memory now that I will cherish and learn from throughout my whole life. I will meet these beautiful people again someday, but for now it is time to start a new chapter with new adventures, new challenges, and new friends.



And now instead of giving water to those I meet, I can give the
Eating a ScorpionEating a ScorpionEating a Scorpion

Zhang Laoshi got peer pressured into eating it with us ;)
delicious, perfectly sweet, ice-cold lemonade that was given to me.


Additional photos below
Photos: 52, Displayed: 26


Advertisement

Saying GoodbyeSaying Goodbye
Saying Goodbye

Our music class with their moms.


We are on Tai Bai Shan with Martin from Belgium and Veronika from Ukraine.
LillyLilly
Lilly

Lilly and me :)
Cave HomesCave Homes
Cave Homes

She was so sweet and willing to talk to us. She has lived in a cave her whole life.
SeanSean
Sean

Sean is the one next to Jarek. If you haven't heard us talk about him, you will!
Cute Grandma!Cute Grandma!
Cute Grandma!

This little family we met at a museum.
外国人外国人
外国人

Cute Chinese girls taking a picture with me because I'm a foreigner.
John DonohoeJohn Donohoe
John Donohoe

This was at the Halloween party they put on in their apartment. So fun!
PartyParty
Party

At my 21st birthday party!


Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0557s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb