Great Wall, Ming Tombs and Other Stuff


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing » Great Wall of China
August 21st 2009
Published: August 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Spirit WaySpirit WaySpirit Way

Coincidence!! This is the very same elephant that Chairman Mao was photographed with.

Day 4, August 18, 2009


I am picked up at my hotel at 9.00am and today I am crossing off one of the listings on my personal bucket list.

First we go to the Ming Tombs. We are visiting just one tomb; the tomb of Emperor Yongle. There are 13 Chinese Emperors buried in an area just below the foothills outside of Beijing. I suppose, this is the Chinese equivalent of the Egyptian Valley of the Kings. However, I don’t actually see the burial mound or the coffin which is 30 meters below the surface and has not been opened (feng shui). I do walk the funerary procession route, called the Spirit Way, which is lined with statues of animals, soldiers and administrators all standing around 10ft high. I even get my picture taken with the same stone elephant that Chairman Mao was photographed with. Lucy and I continue through the various gatehouses that the funeral procession stopped at along the way. She bombards me with facts, most of which go in one ear and out the other, I'm just happy to have the chance to see all of this.

After Ming, “Guide Lucy” informs me we will
Paint Your WagonPaint Your WagonPaint Your Wagon

The Emperor used to travel around in one of these.
stop at a Government Jade Center for a look-see. I am shown the process of carving Jade and then led to the very large Jade store. I bargain for a Jade Terracotta Soldier (now there's an oxymoron), however our prices are at least US $100 apart, so no-sale.

The inevitable lunch, then at last we are at the Badaling Great Wall. I look up and see hordes of Chinese tourists, but Lucy is taking me to a less traveled part of the Wall that is equally as good. It’s a shame that the weather is overcast and my photographs can not do do it justice. Unfortunately, you can’t see the immensity of this man-made structure as it stretches from valley to peak, to peak. Still, I’m impressed and to mark the occasion, Lucy pronounces me a hero, produces a bottle of Great Wall Wine and a glass from her Knapsack. I sit down, pour my class of wine, savor the taste and then we hike up and down for about 3-4km. Only stopping along the way for occasional photographs with Chinese who want their picture taken with the big, white guy. Mr. Ran picks us up close to the
Emperor YongleEmperor YongleEmperor Yongle

Pronounced Yong-Lee
tourist center and then we are in for a quick stop at the Govt. run enamel factory before heading back to Beijing and dinner.

After dinner, it is still early, so Lucy suggests that we visit the night food market. This is packed with people that are eating kebabs on skewers. Even though dinner is a very recent memory, I try grilled silk worm and as the juices seep into my mouth I decide that it is not a taste that I want to repeat. All kinds of sea food abound, from squid, cuttle fish, prawns and my personal favorite sea-horse. I even find that snake can be savored. Umm………………..


Our day is over, I drag my weary legs into the hotel, followed by a welcoming shower and then several hours of frustration as I try to load photographs onto my blog.



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Chairman MaoChairman Mao
Chairman Mao

Chairman Mao at Yongle's funerary temple.
The Great WallThe Great Wall
The Great Wall

Self explanatory. The low cloud makes it difficult to appreciate the wall snaking from peak to peak.
Great Wall WineGreat Wall Wine
Great Wall Wine

Compliments of Lucy. She declared me a hero and produced a bottle and glass to mark the occasion.
Silk Worm on a StickSilk Worm on a Stick
Silk Worm on a Stick

Grilled silk worms are not going to be on the list of my gourmet treats.
Sea Horse on a StickSea Horse on a Stick
Sea Horse on a Stick

I was too full to try this one out.


25th August 2009

I like Chinese
Hi Kevvo, Thanks for the blog. Silk worm on a stick has now been permanently removed from my bucket list. Caroline tells me you've now settled in to the Nirvana of life with mum. Suppose it makes anything on a stick look pretty good! Cheers, Ed
25th August 2009

Chines Food
As I recall you will eat any Chines Food! Is the food as good as L.A.? Looks like you are having a great trip Arnie
25th August 2009

Greetings
Hi Kevin- I am almost jealous! It looks like a great trip. I think the key is the private guide. Marybeth
25th August 2009

Once again, great blog. I feel like I don't need to bother going there now. Cold and rainy here. Have fun!
25th August 2009

The Wall
Great shots, buddy! Looking forward to part 3!
26th August 2009

Spirit Way
So you finally found that White Elephant! A pretty mighty hike along that wall - eeuuugghhh here I am trying to hunt out sea horses in the bay, and you find em on the end of a stick?! Have fun
26th August 2009

great photos
You look so at home on the Great Wall, especially with the bottle of red vino. Classic and classy! See you soon (in late Oct.). Keep up the postings. I like glimpsing your whereabouts! Dale

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0282s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb