Beijing, August 14, 2010


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing » Forbidden City
August 14th 2010
Published: August 14th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Arrived in Beijing at about 5:10 pm. The plane was late and then I had to get my luggage. I got an airport shuttle bus to downtown Beijing and then got a taxi to the hotel The hotel is near Tiannamen Square and the Forbidden City but I didn't see either one of them. I got here at about 7:15 and then had to check in. I came up to my room to leave the bags and then went out to walk to Tiannamen Square. A pedicab driver stopped me and asked if I wanted a tour - for 180 yuan -- about $30...I said I just wanted to walk...he kept following me...$160, then $100 and finally $80. I said ok. Then he made a u-turn and kept saying Hotung...I thought he was saying all around and he did take me all around...reallly just for a ride...no information since he couldn't speak English ... and my Chinese is even more limited than I thought...I couldn't seem to say anything except that I'm a teacher and I don't speak Chinese...finally I remember 'chi fan' which means to eat...because I was really getting hungry. After about 45 minutes, I kept saying,"Tiannamen Square" and finally he said he couldn't take the pedicab into the Square....he then crossed the street and said 'chi fan' and pointed to a restaurant on the corner about 1 block from the hotel...and said 'chi fan' and then indicated that I pay him...ok, but Tiannamen Square? and then I realized that he wasn't going to take me to Tiannamen Square....then I pulled out a 100 yuan bill and said, Do you have change...then he said, no $80 US. I said no way...80 yuan...then he kept saying 'tip tip tip'...Luckily 2 other pedicab drivers came up behind us and put some pressure on him...I think he knew that he couldn't keep demanding dollars with some other people around ... and of course by then I was pretty tired and hungry....I got my change and went inside.

Ok...so I go inside. The restaurant is empty but the menu does have English translation of the dishes. I'm looking for 'noodles' but can't find them anywhere. I spy an omelette with tomatoes and ask for noodles...I motion with my hands ... long strings...they say yes and I think everything is good...then I ask for a soda...they don't have diet coke but a sprite. I'm tired and hungry so I go with it...they bring me the omelette...fabulous...tasty and the tomatoes are excellent...then they bring out peppers and beef...I say, no noodles...no one understands English...and now I can't argue...I eat the omelette with the peppers...it's been a long day...

Then I came back to the hotel and upstairs and got my internet set up and an extra lamp. Every hotel has slippers for the shower and I used the ones here but I feel my feet itching...I've got to get some of the tea tree oil to get rid of the fungus that is burrowing in my feet.

I wanted to record the name of the temple that I went to in Taiyuan...I went to the Chong Shan Si Miao (Temple), a local temple about 20 minutes walking from the YuYuan Hotel where we stayed. It was a beautiful serene temple and I thoroughly enjoyed the time I spent there. There were many local people there praying and visiting and there was a recording of chants which made the visit more enjoyable. I was delighted to have found it.

I also wanted to record the name of the cafe -- the Standard Cafe -- which was on that avenue with all the shops right next to Pierre Cardin.

I also wanted to append an earlier post -- the last day of class:

August 12, 2010
Today was the last day of the program. We had a closing ceremony full of speakers and performances by staff and students alike. The head of the Education Bureau Mr. Wang spoke, Liulei spoke, Judy and then I spoke. There was a local women’s dance troupe that performed…drumming and dancing and then they performed some revolutionary songs/dance for us. The local dance teacherwhose studio we visited also sang a very beautiful song. Another older woman who is a well-known local singer also performed.
The students all did skits…I sang a French drinking song - Le chevalier de la table rond - and I gave a brief speech. Shirley translated:

Cynthia’s speech
Good Morning!
First, I would like to thank Zigen and the Education Bureau (Jiao Yu Ju) for organizing this important program and inviting me as an American English speaker to participate. I feel honored to be here and to be a part of this initiative.
I would also like to thank all the Shilou and Zigen administration and officials who supported our team, in particular Mr. Yin and Liulei, our Headmaster.
I would like to thank our director and founder of the program Judy Manton whose dedication to China, Zigen and the Chinese people, is an inspiration to all.
And I thank my colleagues Shirley, Tanya, Sophia, Victoria and Constance for their dedication and hard work.
But most of all I want to thank the teachers who worked very hard to improve their teaching skills for the benefit of their students.
In particular I would like to thank my own class for an incredible 4 weeks. I had the privilege of working with some of the best teachers, and I will be forever grateful.
I only regret not being able to speak Chinese. But I have started to learn thanks to Jin Hui Chen and Zheng Ye my Chinese teachers and the next time I am here I will be able to talk to you.
Thank you for your hard work, your hospitality, and this unforgettable experience.

The only male teacher who attended the program and was in my class Laoshit Ren Yi wrote this to me. He read it to me the last day.
To: Cynthia Wiseman
I walked on my way to achieve my goals in my life.
Ridicule, satirize are with me.
But those things can’t shape me.
I know beautiful scenery is always top of mountain.
I can’t flow away with the wave.
I have my direction.
I rowed the boat to look for my value of life on the sea.
Isolation, despair, always make me feel vague in the future.
But, I chose the road to learn English,
I enjoy my choice.
Even though I sometimes was trapped in trouble.
I don’t regret.
I have been eager to have a guide.
You came in hot summer holiday.
Drive my uneasy, hesitation
Appreciation in full of my heart.
You refresh my life and shine my road
And light up my lamp of heart.
It is unforgettable to listen to your class.
Today is a special day.
Farewell’s clock sound is coming to me.
Getting together is so transient.
I’ll cherish every minute forever when we are together.
May you happiness and health.

We went to Karaoke this evening…in a tea room there was a big modern room with 2 microphones and a big space maybe for dancing. We sang some old songs and the dance teacher and her husband came and sang. They both have beautiful voices. I felt saddened while I was there, thinking about Ren’s poem and about the sadness that some of the teachers felt…some started crying this afternoon..and I felt sad to think that we will probably never see each other again. You can never be sure but chances are that most of the teachers in Shilou will remain in Shilou or their villages and not be able to visit an English-speaking country. But you never know with the economy of China growing ever so steadily, who knows? We in America may be the ones stuck in our hometowns as our economy comes grinding to a halt and the Chinese with their ever-increasing growth may be the nationality that become the world travelers that Americans have been in the last century....


Additional photos below
Photos: 46, Displayed: 27


Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.048s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb