Cambodia Part 1 2010


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia
April 18th 2010
Published: April 18th 2010
Edit Blog Post

TaipeiTaipeiTaipei

Buddha statue
What up everyone,

I'm sitting here at an Internet spot in Pattaya, Thailand uploading my photos. I'll let my photos do the storytelling since I don't have the time to recollect my thoughts. We've been on the move and just when we're settled at a spot, we have to leave. The trip overall has been awesome. There has been so many moments filled with laughter, conversation, and just letting the world around us go by as we people watch. I'll share them with most of you once I'm back but for now just enjoy the photos.

Some of my highlights so far have been seeing some of my family members, meeting and making new traveling friends, and the $.50 happy hours. After 5 years from the last time, most of my little cousins are all grown up. My grandma is still the same. She's always worried and praying for me. My last night in the village (Sasardam), I experienced my first Cambodian lightening, rain, and thunderstorm. It was pretty harsh. As it was going on, there is my grandma praying for it to stop. I find it amusing actually.
We've also met a lot of other travelers especially in
TaipeiTaipeiTaipei

Hello Kitty Store
Siem Reap. We made some new friends along the way. Some of these travelers are bold though. I don't know if I could go to a foreign country alone but they do and I admire that. And of course, the relatively inexpensive eating and drinking that we've been doing. Where else can you get chicken fried rice and a cold beer for $1.50?

I'm doing my best to slow down and enjoy the moments. Physically I'm beat up. I have insect bites all over and developed heat rashes through out my body. I'm not sure how much longer I can take it but we'll see. And yes assholes they're heat rashes not STDs.

So I'm in Pattaya and we're off to the beach to relax after this. We had to skip Vietnam early due to family obligations but we're thinking of extending our trip for an extra 5 days so we can at least attempt to go there. It will be dictated by our finances and my physical condition.

So far so good though. Off to take back our land from the Thais or at least pee on their women.

So I can only upload 100
TaipeiTaipeiTaipei

Waiving Hi
photos at a time so I had to leave out the last days in Siem Reap. I'll start w/ that and Thailand before I leave in a couple of weeks so check back then.

-V


Additional photos below
Photos: 100, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

TaipeiTaipei
Taipei

John eating in Taipei
Phnom PenhPhnom Penh
Phnom Penh

Not Oreos
Leaving for SihanoukvilleLeaving for Sihanoukville
Leaving for Sihanoukville

Beers. This will be the theme through out the trip.
Temple in PPTemple in PP
Temple in PP

Another Cambodian theme are the temples.
Market in a small townMarket in a small town
Market in a small town

Here's another common site in Cambodia, street markets.
MarketMarket
Market

Fresh Fruit
SihanoukvilleSihanoukville
Sihanoukville

View from our guest house.
Ocheteaul BeachOcheteaul Beach
Ocheteaul Beach

View from Ocheteaul Beach.
Ocheteaul BeachOcheteaul Beach
Ocheteaul Beach

Fresh squid cooked in front of us.
Ocheteaul BeachOcheteaul Beach
Ocheteaul Beach

More food and Angkor beer.
Ocheteaul BeachOcheteaul Beach
Ocheteaul Beach

Me eating a praying mantis prawn.
Ocheteaul BeachOcheteaul Beach
Ocheteaul Beach

More food.
Ocheteaul BeachOcheteaul Beach
Ocheteaul Beach

People playing in the water.
Ocheteaul BeachOcheteaul Beach
Ocheteaul Beach

Sunset @ OB.
Ocheteaul BeachOcheteaul Beach
Ocheteaul Beach

Leaving OB in a Tuk Tuk.
Ocheteaul BeachOcheteaul Beach
Ocheteaul Beach

Small market along the way back to the hotel.
Otras BeachOtras Beach
Otras Beach

More quiet and nicer than OB.
Otras BeachOtras Beach
Otras Beach

Khmer food.


19th April 2010

LOL
showed ur dad. he saved it on his favs. lol
19th April 2010

Cambodia
hey, looks like you're having a blast! so damn jealous! urrghhh! anyways tomorrow is your bday, hope you'll be reading this by then... have a good one and we'll celebrate when you get back!
19th April 2010

Oh wow...pakey, the pictures are awesome. You guys look like you are having a blast. Your mom loss weight too. Well anyways enjoy the rest of your trip and be safe.
20th April 2010

Great Pictures...More pictures and less stories about heat rashes! You've inspired me to take a trip, not sure if i am ready S.E Asia yet. Maybe i will just stick to my roots. Happy Belated birthday!
20th April 2010

Girls? ya right?
vourn those weren't girls. those were those guys that look like girls that you were warned about. safe travels.
21st April 2010

Food
Where is the Pollo Loco?
21st April 2010

Keep Scratchin'
How about a Hebrew National Hot Dog and a Coke for $1.50 at Costco? The chicken fried rice sounds healthier, maybe. Sounds like you're having a blast. Keep those pics coming. See you at yakitori when you get back.
22nd April 2010

fun times
hey there, glad to see you are enjoying your great adventure. Be kind to the Tailandese! LOL! R, N
26th April 2010

Cambo
Looks like somebody is having a 'khmer fever'...are you coming back? If you are, should I be prepare to make another new friend (LOL)? Awsome Pixs...be safe and see you soon.

Tot: 0.296s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.072s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb