Something was rock hard last night and a have a nice impression...


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia
July 13th 2008
Published: June 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

It was my bed. Most of the beds here in Asia for some reason are solid. Actually the bed I have tonight isn't too bad, but it's still like on extra-firm mode. That doesn't help my already aching body. Oh, I have had about 5 foot massages. They are so nice. And cheap. I just got one earlier for 6 bucks. And no, there was no happy ending. That will come later tonight at my own hands.

So there is one other thing I forgot to say in my last email. Some lady said that I have a "nice impression." Here's the whole scintillating story: I took this tour to the Floating Markets and on the way to there, some Korean lady started speaking to me in Korean. I had to reply to her that I didn't understand her, and she said in a fairly accented English that she thought that I was Korean. I said nope. Then she asks me stuff like where I was from, if I was on vacation, if I was by traveling by myself, and the funniest statement: "You have a very nice impression," while touching her face with both hands. I could only say, "Well thank you. I get that a lot." Now I know what you're thinking. Another "older" lady is hitting on me. Nope. Who was sitting next her? Her husband. And who was sitting next to him? Her son. She was actually pretty cool and talked to me a little throughout the tour. Good times.

Well now I am in Siem Reap, the city nearest to the Angkor Wat temples. The place is nicer than Phnom Penh. Probably because it's much more developed (i.e. touristy) here. Lots of white-looking people walking around throwing around their Euros or Australian dollars. Well that's not true. Interestingly, the most accepted and used currency is the greenback. Today on my bus ride here, which took about 6 hours from the capital of Phnom Penh, I had to sit next to a guy who I think spoke German or something similar. The dude wreaked of b.o. I had to lean over into the isle while reading to get some fresh air. He was polite, though saying good morning and thank you to me. There were two other guys with him. One of them was Asian looking. I never seen an Asian dude speak German.

Now I am sitting in the freaking sauna of a hotel lobby. It's kind of weird. This older European dude sitting next to me asked me where the "@" sign was. Then a few minutes later after helping him find the @ key, I noticed he still couldn't log onto his account. So I asked him if he needed help, and the guy was using the previous user's email account. So I had to ask him his email address to type it in for him.

And then a little while ago, there's the clerk guy who just grabbed my copy of Rolling Stone. So I asked him if he liked American music, and we started talking about music and then other things. He just asked me a couple of minutes ago for my email, so he can practice his English. I think President Bush should do the same thing. He was very polite and earnest in wanting to learn English, so I offered to help him. The clerk dude, not George, by the way. Like I said, the people are extremely friendly and open here.

I really cannot stop myself. Even though there are no malls or shopping centers here, I still bought crap. Three pairs of Oakleys (for $3 each) and a pair of jeans with a dragon design. Didn't do much else than shop, eat and get a massage. What a dainty weak-ass I am. Well tomorrow I go to the temples, which will probably be the highlight of my trip. Uh oh. I think the mosquitoes are coming out. I already have a couple of bites now.

Hope I don't get malaria and die here in Cambodia. I was too lazy to get my anti-malarial medications before I left. But if I do expire here, at least someone can enjoy my fake Ed Hardy clothes, fake Oakleys, and 50 kilos of other utterly useless crap. Well, that big bottle of Angkor beer for less than $3 is finally making it's way though my bladder, so I must relieve myself soon.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0409s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb