Memories of Sihanoukville


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Sihanoukville
April 19th 2010
Published: April 19th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Let's see...I was in Cambodia, it was the 20 somethingth of March, and I wanted to write an entry...about Sihanoukville.

It was built into the program for Language Corps trainees to visit the beachside--just the same was as it was built into the program for us to do Angkor Wat. The difference is that I actually went to this one.

It was quite nice. I headed down with just one other trainee, Dave. Everyone else had either left for Vietnam or Thailand, or else preferred not to go. We were guided there by Trea, who works with the company, and one of her friends. After we arrived, we were also joined by Dara and his friends, Dave's girlfriend, and other random Khmer folks.

And we spent two days chilling on the beach in Sihanoukville. At one point, I wound up with a pedicure for $3 and ten squids-on-a-stick. I also wound up, despite my liberal use of SPF100 sunscreen, with a sunburn on my kneecaps and under my arms (?) and maybe that's my fault for trying to mitigate my stomach problems with Cipro, which makes you photosensitive.

The times we weren't spending on the beach were
No TitleNo TitleNo Title

It's just...those things on the beach. Nothing more.
spent in any of the following places: the guesthouse lounge (with Western food), various Sihanoukville restaurants (including one called Snakehouse, which literally has hundreds of snakes and other such animals in pens around the premises), in the airplane lounge (please refer to the picture--there's an actual airplane sitting in this bar, and you can walk around inside of it should it be your desire), or else sleeping through the heat of the day in the airconditioned room I shared with Trea.

A good time was had by all. Hope you like the pictures.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Squid-on-a-StickSquid-on-a-Stick
Squid-on-a-Stick

Just one of ten ways to enjoy life.
The Royal PedicureThe Royal Pedicure
The Royal Pedicure

For just three dollar$!
The Airplane BarThe Airplane Bar
The Airplane Bar

Guys! Is this truly not the greatest idea known to mankind??!


Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0218s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb