Stuff


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shandong » Jining
April 19th 2010
Published: April 19th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Guys, I have not been adding the Reconstructed Stories, largely because--I just don't want to.

I was thrust head-first into this teaching thing, and it's sort of destabilizing me internally right now. I just don't want to do anything except lie in bed and pretend that I am lying on the couch in my Uncle Fred's basement listening to the traffic on Old Georgetown Road and being content with the knowledge that I have nothing to do with my life but head to the National Natural History Museum, meet up with old friends, and lobby my Senators (or rather, my Senators' Legislative Assistants).

Uncle Fred, if you are reading this, I am serious about that. Such happy memories.

Nostalgia aside--here's what I did today. I woke up at 9:30 am. I read a book. I surfed the internet. I made rice porridge (which I do the same way my mommy used to make rice pudding, minus the sugar and plus the ginger and black egg). Then I had to go to my school's...ONE YEAR ANNIVERSARY! Which means that now...WE'RE LEGIT! (Sorry, I need to explain about being legit...keep following the blog. You will soon know all.)

This time, the whole school turned out for dinner--not just us Foreign Teachers. It was another one of those things where they force you to get drunk. Here's what I don't understand about this: everyone's always like "Baijiu...NOOOOO! I won't survive!" and then they just keep drinking it. It's not just a Chinese thing--the foreigners do it too. I've never seen anyone make such a fuss about a drink! What is it? Everyone hates it but mutally coerces each other? Or everyone loves it but feels compelled to make up stories about how they hate it so no one will suspect they like it? Leeza does not understand this mystery.

I did understand the food, though. There was lots of it, I don't know what most of it was, and it was so good I got a food coma. I pity the fool who has not eaten a fancy dinner in China.

I have to get up early early tomorrow--I'm supposed to see a kite flying festival in Weifang, which most assuredly will cost me the rest of my life savings as well as a good night's sleep.

TTFN.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.144s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0693s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb