Bye Bye Cambodia


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Sihanoukville
October 29th 2007
Published: October 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello again,

The end has come already, how three months flies by! The training has all but ended now, and the final workshops went really well. Jacina left to go to Australia last week and I am sure she was met at the airport from a very grateful husband! The last few trainings I did were for two different NGOs - one that deals mainly with counselling of children and teenagers, and the other that works with children at risk in the slum areas. Both were a lot of fun - despite my feelings of exhaustion and sickness! Yes, I got sick again. This time laryngitis threatened to rear it's ugly head the day of the training... but with many people urgently praying for me at home in Oz and here in PP, my voice did not go and I was able to do two days training one after the other. All the praise goes to our Lord for His provision and intervention 😊

I was able to go to a coastal town with a couple of friends over the weekend. It was nice to get away and have some R & R. The place is called Sihanoukville (named after the King) and reminded me a lot of the Gold Coast - on a much smaller scale of course. Surprisingly it was here that I experienced my first real bout of Culture Shock, and came out of the blue for me which meant I didn't quite know what was happening at the time. But, it was still a nice chance to get away from the hustle and bustle of Phnom Penh and see another place of Cambodia that I have never visited before. There are some pictures below of our adventures!

Over the next few days I will be saying goodbye to various NGOs I have worked with, finishing the 8 week program on parent and child relationship skills, spending time with friends, and trying to find time to pack...

I head off to Singapore on Wednesday and then on to Indonesia where I will spend a week with my sponsor child, Indah. It is such a blessing to be able to visit her as I have sponsored her for the last 5 years and this may be the last opportunity to see her as she will most likely leave the sponsorship program in a few years.
Ladies of leisureLadies of leisureLadies of leisure

Me and Michelle
We are both looking forward to finally meeting!

I meet with a lady tomorrow here in Phnom Penh about opportunities for me to volunteer with the NGO she set up some years ago. This NGO works with a range of other organisations all focused on reaching out to children who have been abused or who are at risk of abuse and homelessness. They do amazing work and I am excited that I may have an opportunity to volunteer alongside them. I am so thrilled to be able to come back to Cambodia long-term and God has graciously prepared the way ahead by providing a good friend here who I will most likely flat with when I come back. He has also provided a wonderful Khmer church which I now go to, and will continue to attend when I return. God is indeed so good to us!

I want to thank each of you for your encouragement, prayers and support. Without you it would have been next to impossible to be here and to do what I have been doing. It encourages me greatly to know that I have such a strong support network around the world which God uses to bless me while I do the work He has called me to. May it also encourage you that the God of today never changes, He is the same today as He was in the past, and will be the same in the future. What He has done for me He is willing and wanting to do for you. May He bless you greatly so you can be a blessing to others!

Thank you 😊

Kirsten xxooxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

A new friendA new friend
A new friend

One of the girls who sell things on the beach to tourists - very clever!
Last training dayLast training day
Last training day

Me with the participants from one NGO
Side by SideSide by Side
Side by Side

Australian flag next to the Cambodian flag at the riverside area in Phnom Penh - my friends hold the Aussie flagpole while I hold the Cambodian one...


29th October 2007

the end
You're coming home!!!!!!!!! I can't wait to hear all your news in person, and to have one of our long chats............. Love your photos. See you soon, beautiful. xx Teeka

Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0324s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb