Mike says "does this seat turn into a flat bed?"


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Phnom Penh
July 30th 2012
Published: July 31st 2012
Edit Blog Post

Before leaving Siem Reap I must tell you when we were on the river yesterday the houses are on stilts and they move them up and down the river to suit the time of year and when the floods arrive and dispel. It is times like these when you realise how lucky we all are. Also, you know the green man for crossing roads in Siem Reap he is not a stationery, he walks / runs it is so funny (if it is the same in Phnom Penn I will video it for you).

If you know anyone who is going to Cambodia I have a great recommendation for a guide his name is Narin and his email address is narinangkorguide@yahoo.com. His English is fantastic and his knowledge of Cambodia is amazing.

Well we have left Siem Reap now and early this morning caught the bus to Phnom Penn. We arrive at the bus stop and give the tickets to the lady 12$US for a 6 hour bus ride. To be honest the bus was in really good nick. I was a little bit worried as when I went on a long bus trip in Nepal from Kathmandu to Pokhara we had to put our luggage on top of the bus. Whilst travelling along it started raining and I did not know that rucksacks are not waterproof so when we got to Pokhara all my stuff was soaking which was not a good start. So I told Mike to put a large plastic bag inside his rucksack at the top (the laundry bags in the hotel room are ideal for this) and to keep his waterproof cover for his rucksack in his hand luggage so it we had to put the bags on top of the bus then we could get these on pretty damn quick.

Anyway this was not the case it was quite civilised they gave you a ticket for your bag that you was putting in the hold under the bus. We then were even given a bottle of water and a danish pastry - I thought this is a bit posh. Mike gets on the bus and says do the chairs go down as flat beds! My eyes popped out of my head "FLAT BEDS" are you joking this is not luxury travelling you know! I start ranting and raving do you know how much this 6 hour journey costs less than £8 - to which, I then see a smirk on his face - only joking!

Anyway it was a typical journey no tarmac for quite a bit of the journey and cars, lorries, cycles, motorbikes coming at you from all directions. We stopped at the usual restaurant where there were fried crickets piled high with red and green chilli's on. I must admit even I could not have a go at tasting them - so we bought a can of coke - real adventurous arn't we.

We arrive at the bus station in Phnom Penn and the two Australian girls behind us said "I hope the bus going to Ho Chi Minh is better than this". I nearly turned around and said better than this where do you think you are. We had air-conditioning, a seat with a cushion, given a bottle of water this is luxury girls travelling by bus - get over it.

We have been to the Royal Palace today and the Silver Pergoda. The King was not in residence so I think the news of Lady Law arriving in Phnom Penn could have not been delivered to him yet. Anyone who works (Opps Freudian Slip - used to work with me) my nickname was Lady Law I do not know how I got that nickname honest. Anyway expecting the King to be it situ tomorrow and no doubt will be getting a private audience with him. I will let you know the outcome tomorrow of course that is if I have not been sworn to secrecy in the meantime.

We have been for dinner and now residing in the hotel - to be honest it is quite away outside the main busy area of Phnom Penn so tonight it is ok but not sure what we will do tomorrow night - might brave a tuk tuk in the pitch black! Think may have to work on the ex Risk Director on this one!

Hope everything is well with you all.

The green man on the traffic signs actually runs it is so funny wish we could have this running man in England.

Advertisement



31st July 2012

Hi
Just to let you both know that I am finding your blog fascinating! I read them all assiduously and look forward to them. Continue to enjoy yourselves........................Mike needs to loosen up!!!! P
31st July 2012

Blogs
Hi Paul Glad you are enjoying them and thanks for the comment - honest Mike is relaxed and loosening up - wait for the blogs when he is volunteering and being overrun by children, ha ha. As Jason is busy with the Olympics not had an update on your mum hope all is as well as can be expected. PJ
1st August 2012

lol gotta love mike and his flatbeds

Tot: 0.44s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1177s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb