Sticker lady


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Phnom Penh
February 22nd 2010
Published: February 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

I am now the offical sticker lady at school. When we went to the O Russei market on Saturday I stocked up and today was my day rewarding good manners and behaviour with them. They were a big success although slightly distracting.
Today was really full on due to the fact that I had to spend the day with the really little kids aged between 1 and a half and 3. It was exhausting and I am completely sung out. Carrie, I desparetly need some new suggestions for songs. All that came to my mind was Old McDonald, Little teapot and the like.

Last night we strolled a few blocks to a local restaraunt called Khmer Kitchen. It's in Lonely Planet and it was brilliant. We sat upstairs on cushions and soaked up the atmosphere. Really good food. I am yet to try my own Amok (fish or chicken) but I tasted Kazz' last night and it was superb. Apparently it is also very good in Siam Reap so I will def try it then if not before.

To answer some questions:
Mum, all my clothes have been great so far. I have worn most of them already. Washing powder is very cheap so it has not been a problem to wash and dry overnight.
The volunteers who are at the school with me are Kazz ( British 26yrs), Abi (Welsh 22yrs), Owen (Irish mid 50's), Christina (Sweedish mid 40's) these people share the flat with me. There is also Phillipe and his girlfriend Agnes from France (early 30's) who live upstairs at the school about 200m from the flat. Sian (pronounced Sharn) and Kate (both 25 from England) also volunteer but have come through a different organsiation where they live in a flat offsite. I haven't seen their flat but it sounds great... it even has hot water!
I have only done a small amount of exploring so far. There is heaps to see and i'm glad I can afford to take my time. Mum, the local market is very like the one we went to in Vietnam. A real maze! The only difference is that the markets appear to be broken into types of markets. For example, the one we went to on Saturday was for items you would need in a business eg straws, cups, plates, food colouring. A commercial market. The Russian Market is the real tourist one with clothes, souveniers etc. The Centeral market is another but im not sure of what they sell. I'll let you know when I go. For fruit and veg there is a small local place and the supermarkets or 7 eleven type of mini markets.
I am trying my best to learm some Khmer (pronounced Khmai- I didn't know this) as it is not tonal like Vietnamese. Never the less, it is still proving to be very difficult.
I hope this helps. Love to you all.

Advertisement



23rd February 2010

Go sticker girl!
Hi Chloe, It is so good to get all your info. I love reading what you have been up to. What a shame the post is so unreliable, otherwise I would send some cds of songs for those little ones! They are exhausting aren't they? That's why I don't teach in lower primary anymore. I had dinner with Mia and Jarrad on Sunday. Vege was very happy to see me, but, a sign that he is happy there is that he did not even get off the couch to say goodbye when I left!!! Mia was planning to come to Sorrento on Thursday so she could talk to you too, so let's hope it works!!! All the food sounds delicious and how good that alcohol is cheap, by our standards. That day by the pool sounded like fun too. My class is at art now, but I have to put up a display in the office, so I had better finish. I love you Chloe. Can't wait to speak to you. Mum.
23rd February 2010

songs for the lil kiddies
Hiya Sticker Lady, You sound like you are having a ball and it sounds just like you planned it. I guess you will be teaching all different aged kids over the time you are there. So here is small supply of songs to sing next time you a with the little munckins. If you don't know all the words to them, I'm sure you can google the title or part of the lyrics and find out the rest...but I'm sure you will know most of them, the titles will jog your memory. 1 little, 2 little, 3 three little indians etc up to 10 Where is thumbkin? (With fingers) Wind the Bobbin up (has actions) 12345 once I caught a fish alive open shut them 2 little dickie birds sitting on a wall (finger rhyme) Head, shoulders, knees and toes Tony Chestnut Twinkle Twinkle Baa Baa black sheep Jack and Jill Humpty Dumpty ABC Alison's camel has 1 (2, 3, 4 etc) hump The ants go marching Hopefully that makes a change from good Old Macca and the like xx

Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 67; dbt: 0.0729s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb