Long Way Up Day XII and XIII


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Phnom Penh
December 22nd 2009
Published: December 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

320km

It took us 8 hours to get here from Siem Reap with motorbike. We made various stops on the way.
After Siem Reap the landscapes where still the same, but we could see that people were wealthier than in the west: houses, bikes, motorbikes and more cars were on the way. Roads were fine and traffic was easy going untill we got in to the capital area. Here people drive like mad outside the city. Nobody gives a fuck about anybody else than themselves. Size matters in the way that what the bike you have to always give road for those who are having a biger vehicle.

Poverty

People live in the country side in poverty, they do not have natural smile on their faces (who could expect that).
Remarkable thing is also that one can hardly see old people in the croud. Poverty comes often with unequal distrubution of wealth, in this case it can be seen in the amount of Lexus cars which drive around here. I think I saw so many Lexuses only in Russia.

Remarks

Phnom Penh does not strike me at all. It lacks somehow the spirit and soul. People are generally sad. I read today a local newspaper which wrote only horrilble and bad news. There was nothing positive in the newspaper. So if I would come to work here, I would probably found a newspaper called "Good news from Cambodia". Its aim would be to generate positive buzz around the country, raise self esteem of locals and support domestic consumption.

I might never come back here, but I have to say that this has been amazing experience. I don't like the country so much, but I wish that they would find a stronger national identity and self confidence in the future.

Tommorow we head to Saigon, my big dream will become real when I can drive the streets of Saigon with our Bike 😉

Day XIII

Corruption

I talked, walked and drove bike around the city and between officials, customs etc.. to get the bike to Vietnam. My local friend told me that corruption is everywhere. People who work for the government, drive the biggest cars and earn the most of the money. The government job holders are selected among friends and family. No random person can access the wealth.

Papers and stamps

After four visits to the customs we got our papers inside and now we wait untill tommorow 5pm to get them stamped. I have now paid all together 95$ and tommorow it will be more. The problem in this kind of system is that the locals loose their faith into the system, because they are not going to be able to change anything without of some kind of revolution.


See ya tommorow.

Love you all

What is today does not have to be always.

See more at:


- Ilkka -

More from Olga at: http://carpe-diem-singapore.blogspot.com/

Advertisement



Tot: 0.034s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0171s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb