Day 50: Phnom Penh


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Phnom Penh
May 12th 2018
Published: May 12th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Today was the by far the hardest day of my journey through South East Asia.
We hired a tuk tuk for the afternoon taking us to the Killing Fields and Genocide Museum. Choeung Ek, one of 300 killing fields, is littered with the remains of the bodies that were taken under the turmoil of the Khmer Rouge regime. The unthinkable inhumanities that took place in Cambodia from 1975-1979 are sickening beyond belief. The sinister genocide is documented as one of the worst cases of mass massacres in history, resulting in approximately 3 million deaths. What really got me is that the fields are cleaned once every month, for the past 40 years, as the rain washes the soil to reveal the bones of the genocide victims.
I felt deeply disturbed by the Angkar’s inhuman acts on particularly mothers, children and babies. I stood at the children’s killing tree with tears down streaming down my cheeks, with an overwhelming feeling of sadness and disbelief. This was no doubt the most emotional, moving experience of my life. I have never felt so grateful for where I come from.
So I needed a BIG glass of wine after this. We went into town and my favourite star from the tv show Love Island, Georgia Harrison, came up to me on the street and asked where to go for drinks. Next thing I know we’re singing Oasis on karaoke and drunkenly spilling wine all over eachother. Best night ever.
After just 2 nights we moved onto the most special place in Cambodia, Siem Reap.





Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0471s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb