Kampot


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Kampot
June 1st 2010
Published: June 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Follow the Red Dirt RoadFollow the Red Dirt RoadFollow the Red Dirt Road

Typical road in Kampot.
Hello everyone!

Lots to tell.

We've decided against motor bike rental as tuk-tuk is inexpensive and the roads here are very rough. Yesterday we had a rainstorm in the afternoon-poured for an hour then beautiful again. We were tucked into a cozy restaurant with a bowl of fish amok and a plate of fried shrimp with Kampot Pepper. We climbed 203 steps to a cave of limestone, viewed a salt plant, fishing village, and pepper plantation. The plantation grows the famous Kampot Pepper which is a must if you ever see it on a menu. The "plantation"is what Dad would call a garden! We spent a few hours in a town called Kep on the Gulf of Thailand and ate fried shrimp and crab. Lovely.

I had my introduction to my school here in Kampot. I am assigned to a Khmer teacher who teaches two classes-one beginner level and one more advanced. I only observed my first day. The students were allowed to ask me questions. They asked where I was from, my age, if I was married, what my job was, how I traveled to work, and what time I get up in the morning. Khmer teaching
Fishing VIllageFishing VIllageFishing VIllage

Yes, our fishing village on our tour.
style is very different from the US-lots of shouting. The boys kicked each other, threw each others books out the window; the girls talked constantly and tried to slap the boys whenever possible. ISES was a very good training ground for me! Tomorrow I teach on my own-I actually went and bought some candy for my lessons (Karen-you KNOW what that means!). It is going to be a challenge but I feel up to it. I do enjoy a classroom-I know I have chosen the right career path. The students followed my tuk-tuk almost all the way home. More stories later.

The Fantastic Four are coming to Kampot tomorrow-our fellow travelers from Nairobi. We are looking forward to seeing them again.

Tonight is some kind of ceremony on the river-there is a tent with chairs set up-we aren't sure what it is but we will be checking it out. A few notes:

Mom-you gave me the best travel advice ever. I will send a private message later!
Dolores-The little town of Kep reminded us of Tarpon Springs. 😊
Karen-WHERE ARE YOU? I NEED YOU IN MY KHMER CLASSROOM!
Dad-you will love the pepper plantation pictures.
Ed-we've got
My entourageMy entourageMy entourage

These boys followed us up-they had nothing else to do.
your girl.
Jill and Lisa-miss talking to you both.

Love to everyone back home-we are healthy and happy.

Suzie and Steven.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

View from Cave White Elephant CaveView from Cave White Elephant Cave
View from Cave White Elephant Cave

Climb 250 steps and this is what you see!


Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0602s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb