Kampot


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Kampot
May 31st 2010
Published: May 31st 2010
Edit Blog Post

A beautiful morning in Kampot. We are still waking around four am-still adjusting. We went to the local market this morning to buy some swimming trunks for Steven. The girls were laughing at trying to find some shorts big enough! But alas, we found a pretty pair of purple ones with hibiscus flowers-Steven is sure to be the center of attention! I tried to buy a dress but couldn't find anything in my size so I guess it isn't all that funny. Steven kept hitting his head in the market-not exactly built for a man his size. We were the only non-Khmers there and we really stood out. We will be going back tomorrow for some supplies.

We have decided to rent a motor bike for the week. That way Steven can take me to school and pick me up and we can go anywhere we want. Only 5$ a day-bargain! Our guest house, Mea Culpa, is gorgeous. Lovely people, quiet and a brick oven for pizza. 😊

So far what I know is I will be teaching from two hours every evening from 5-7 pm this week Monday through Friday. We can explore during the day and I can teach then we can enjoy all of the restaurants along the river. The children are very funny here-they are not shy and come to us and ask us we are from. Boy are they going to be surprised when I walk in as their teacher.

Hey Dad-the Kingdom of Cambodia could sure use your help in the farming department. It really is like stepping back in time. Wood plows harnessed to very thin cows-we've seen only one farm tractor so far.

We've settled into Kampot quite well.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.154s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0795s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb