Completely templed-out


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North
July 21st 2009
Published: August 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Angkor WatAngkor WatAngkor Wat

Early in the morning
Warning this entry contains loads of photos.....


I woke up at 4:30am to get to Angkor Wat for the sunrise. I had had an awful sleep as there were loads of mosi's in my room and I was bitten 15 times!! Was met by my tuk-tuk driver at 5am who was a man called Tina. After 20min drive we arrived at the ticket gate and had to pay the 20 dollar ticket price (this is for a one day ticket)
I then was dropped outside the Angkor Wat and watched the sunrise while eating my pack lunch. Unfortunately it was too cloudy and the sunrise wasn't great. I then strolled around the huge Angkor Watt complex until 9ish.
Then I met Tina and he took me to ride on a hot air balloon which went over the temples. It was a great view. The hot air balloon was attached to a rope so it only went up and down. It was filled with Helium..is this safe??

Next we went to the Angkor Thom temple complex/area which included :

The Bayon temples - The one with the faces
Baphuon - One with a long bridge entrance
Preah Pallay - One with a big Buddha
Terrace of the Leper King .........lots more

After temple-ing for about 3 hours I met Tina at a cafe where I had a much needed soda and lemon. I was so tired already and we were only half way round.

I visited 2 more temples then onto the Ta Prohm temple which contained the Lara Croft film tree. The temple was actually one of my favorites as it was completely overgrown with huge trees and falling apart. It was really like being in a Indiana Jones film.

Saw one more temple after this, but I can't remember the name as I was completely templed out by this point so at about 13:30 I gave up and went back to the hotel for a much needed nap.




Additional photos below
Photos: 33, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

BalloonBalloon
Balloon

The helium filled balloon ...surely this is not safe??


Tot: 0.185s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0535s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb