Volunteering Day 1


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Siem Reap
January 30th 2006
Published: January 31st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Today was the first day of our volunteer work with our hosts, Journeys-Within. It started out poorly as we were taken to the wrong school. We ended up at a school for deaf/mutes. Neither of us felt comfortable enough to be of much assistance to them. The place we had committed ourselves to was further down the road. It is a Christian run orphanage where we were to teach English to the children. No evidence of crosses or that the kids are being brainwashed so we felt comfortable enough.

We divided the kids into 2 groups. I took the under sevens and Claudette took the older ones. The later had a text book to work with. With my lot, I started out simple, with the Hokey-Pokey song to get them to learn parts of the body. Laster, one of the teachers came by and asked that I work on the alphabet with them. I was sceptical but they all scurried off to get scribblers and pencils.

They all know their letters and numbers and dutifully coppied them off the blackboard. One little guy brought to my attention that I had skipped a letter. These children are much more open than the older students we have been working with in the afternoons. Still, they are taught by rote and there is little use of imagination. They mimiced everything I said.

It was a fulfilling experience in that there enthusiasm is heartwarming and several competed to sit by me. I look forward to the next 3 days with them. I plan to get them to draw pictures of themselves. I wonder if they can cope with this open ended style of teaching, or will they simply want to copy what I do.

In the afternoon we returned to our English classes at the Buddist temple. Today, we were joined by 2 other people staying at Journeys-Within so the group sizes were smaller. Much more rewarding in that it gives all the students a chance to talk.

Claudette went back to the B&B directly after class and I was dropped off downtown to explore on my own. I picked up a couple of souvenirs at the market and had a couple of beers as I watched the street urchins chase after the tourists. One little girl did a double take and flashed a smile and wave. It was one of my morning students.

Since I was on my own I decided to treat myself to a massage. I had been forwarned to stay away from the massage parlours that had a triple repeating number in the name and places where the girls are not wearing uniforms. I settled for a foot massage. The girl marvelled at my swollen feet and called the other girls over to oggle and giggle. I think she put an extra effort into her work. My, what strong thumbs.

There was a noticeable difference in the swelling after she had finished with the left foot. By the time she had finished with the other one, the first had swelled up again. I think she was disappointed. Nevertheless, there was a spring to my gate as I continued down the street to find an internet cafe.

I had my photos burned onto another CD so will take some time now to go back and add some more pics to previous entries.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0548s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb