Porkula 1


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Siem Reap
August 10th 2008
Published: August 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

We all trecked to the 'X bar' last night to go and watch some pig racing...was so funny! The entire upstairs bar was covered in straw and stank of pigs. There were about 10 piglets and 4/5 races and it was all done to raise money for chairty. They had to run around the edge of the bar and in to a little pen. They were so funny! You would never get away with doing something like that at home...especially when there is a restaurant on the floor below.

It was Elisa's birthday yesterday so we all met up in the roof top bar for some drinks first with some volunteers from other organisations too. One of them asked me whether or not I had eaten at 'happy pizza' yet and when they told me why I breathed a massive sigh of relief. I went there on my own on my very first day but instead of ordering a happy pizza I had the pasta. If I had had the happy pizza then I would have had an interesting afternoon. Basically the secret ingredient is marijuana so I would have been high, on my own and in a completely different country! Some of the other volunteers have had it and have had mixed reactions to it. Most people just giggle for hours afterwards but I don't think I'll be getting a happy pizza on this trip!

Apart from the pig racing I have had a farely normal lazy weekend, getting up late, going for some drinks which are very cheap. You can get a BUCKET of vodka and red bull for $5 (2.50). Would be brilliant at home that! I might go to the supermarket later and buy some good old English food. Maybe some pringles...he he.

miss u all..

K8.
x x x

Advertisement



10th August 2008

pringles
Pringles! you are supposed to be trying the local food- and I don't mean the happy pizza! miss you lots. mumxx
11th August 2008

Pizza please.......
Alright Sis, Good to keep up to date with your going's on over there, sounds like a pretty cool trip so far! I have a plan for your next lesson.....see if you can get the kids to support the Albion. Teach them 'Sussex by the Sea'....it could be a whole new fan base for the seagulls.... I write to request that you dont spend your money on buying me some weird and wonderful trinckets from the local market. Instead, a 'Happy Pizza' will suffice...and I dont even care if its cold! I reckon it would make my 10 hours in the office every day a little more interesting. And if you can bring back a Bucket of Vodka Red Bull that would be a bonus..... Take care, keep having fun and keep the updates coming..... Tom
13th August 2008

good idea!
Although i couldnt show them my shirt cause i couldn't find it to pack. Some of them have asked what BHAFC on my ring stands for and i simply replied with "oh it's only the best football team in the world!" As to the song, it was hard enough to try and teach them twinkle twinkle little star let alone sussex by the sea. It ended up just me and Elisa singing and with a cold i sound pretty funny when singing! I can see it now...me carefully carrying a bucket of vodka red bull through customs...ha ha. you know you're going to get some crappy trinket now...well...it depends how nice you are to me! miss u x x x
13th August 2008

hmmm
pringles or happy pizza...hard decision!

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0434s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb