Cambodia. 2018


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Siem Reap
January 13th 2018
Published: January 13th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Cambodia Day 1 and 2 11/12Jan 2018

The first day was spent on the 13 hr flight to Singapore. Exciting stuff, wishing you are somewhere else with a stiff back and aching body desperate for a comfortable chair or bed. The run to the airport wasn’t a lot better since the traffic was horrendous making the journey 2hrs instead of the 1 hr when roads are clear.
The lay off in Singapore was 5 1/2hr and then a short 2hr leg to Siem Reap, where we were met by our local guide leader Shanee. Things may have been a bit swifter if I had not managed to miss a digit off my passport number on my Visa application. Donkey. I just hope this is the only problem we get. However in Cambodia I presented it to the security official and he accepted it at face value. Big relief. One major problem was the loss of one of the bikes when we retrieved ours off the carousel, which caused another half hour delay. After building and setting up the bikes we went into Siem Reap for a meal, Cambodian style. I had Cambodian soup with chicken which was very good and filling. Recommended. I had a Margarita cocktail for drinks, passing up the chance of the one called ‘Templed Up’ thinking that it may be more appropriate tomorrow after Ankor.
A visit to ‘Pub Street’ was made on our return, the neon lights of which puts Las Vegas to shame. A donation was made to a street band made up of men disabled due to land mines with their artificial limbs propped by the platform.
Bed called at 9.45 as I was exhausted after having zero sleep on the plane in almost two days and travelling a third of the way around the Earth. Head down until my alarm awakened me rudely st 6am. What a rotten trick.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.037s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0196s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb