Rockin' and rollin' in Siem Riep!


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Angkor
November 14th 2007
Published: November 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

(Note: It's Thursday evening, almost 10 p.m. I started this blog yesterday, after we arrived in Cambodia mid-afternoon. You are probably wondering where I've been.........well, let me tell you........as there is no internet service in the rooms, I have been sitting in the lounge and/or in the business center of the hotel, plugged in to their network, writing the blog ......that part was easy.......but getting the pictures uploaded has been THE most frustrating part of the whole thing. People have come and gone, and here I still sit.........but I'm calling it quits for now because it's my bedtime and I'm just too frustrated with this whole set-up. I'll feel better in the morning.......and then you will get the whole account of our most exciting day today!!!!! Stay tuned.........)


Today's Quote

When a person doesn't have gratitude, something is missing in his or her humanity. A person can almost be defined by his or her attitude toward gratitude.

-Elie Wiesel

Wednesday, Nov. 14th

Greetings from Cambodia! After a decent breakfast, we were back on the bus, headed to the airport…….traffic was the major concern which you can appreciate after seeing the pictures of the traffic. We
BBQ anyone?BBQ anyone?BBQ anyone?

The day before, we saw this pig on a truck. Guess it was a short ride!
departed from the new airport (opened September 2007); very smooth process and we’re on board, on our way……40 minute flight. Just long enough to kick back 2 glasses of champagne……..and sing Happy Birthday to Dawn Williams!

On the ground, out the door and smack into the very humid air in Siem Riep! Into the terminal, out of the terminal (very quick process) and greeted by lovely ladies who gave us scarves (in 34 degree weather!!!!!!) as we boarded our respective buses. And then…….yup……..time to eat! Again!!!! Good thing, because we’re starving! Hard to survive on champagne alone. Lunch was a buffet; fabulous and tasty too. Back on the bus and on our way to The Angkor Century Hotel (www.angkorcentury.com) Check in went extremely smoothly……….I LOVE MY ROOM!!!!!!! (with white chocolate, lotus blossoms on my bed, a patio overlooking the amazing pool, etc. etc., and a fruit plate …..in case I get hungry again. Brief time in the room, and then back on the bus! Headed to Phom Temple and Angkor Wat. This is one of the Wonders of the World, and a highlight of the tour for some of our passengers. Very exciting. (and VERY HOT…….and HUMID……..)
It was
How beautiful are they???!!!How beautiful are they???!!!How beautiful are they???!!!

Singing to Dawn.......
an enjoyable visit with lots to see. Lots of climbing, lots of photo opportunities and lots of sweat~! It was an interesting experience for most people because we were “ambushed” by all these little kids, everywhere, selling all kinds “stuff”……..for “one dolla”. They were pretty cute, but rather aggressive, insistent and a bit frightening…..yet sad for some.
Back on the bus (it’s a nice bus), and back to the hotel. We had a bit of time to get refreshed and ready for dinner, which was in the hotel tonight. This is a great facility with something for everyone…….a great pool, a workout facility, a gift shop, etc. etc.
The challenge for me is that there is no internet connection in the rooms. I typically write the blog at the end of the day, when I get into my “PJs”, make some green tea and start writing. That wouldn’t look so great tonight as I have to do this while sitting in the lounge (with great music playing). The bonus tonight is that I’ve enjoyed some wine with my fellow group leaders (Carroll, Faye and Brenda) and Faye and Carroll are helping me write the blog tonight. It’s fun!
So there
Happy Birthday, Dawn Williams!Happy Birthday, Dawn Williams!Happy Birthday, Dawn Williams!

We hope it was a good one!
you go. Sit back and enjoy. Tomorrow is a full and fun day!

Happy, Happy 60th birthday to my sister, Maureen, on Nov. 15th!

(Good night, Mom. I love you!)

Happy Pat (and Carroll and Faye)



Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Coming into Siem RiepComing into Siem Riep
Coming into Siem Riep

View from the plane.....
Getting closer......Getting closer......
Getting closer......

It's pretty wet down there!
Angkhor WatAngkhor Wat
Angkhor Wat

We were there at sunset.......it started to rain a little bit........gorgeous view!
Amazing and very old trees at the temple.....Amazing and very old trees at the temple.....
Amazing and very old trees at the temple.....

Some of these trees are up to 200 years old!
Faye, Pat and CarrollFaye, Pat and Carroll
Faye, Pat and Carroll

My blog team.........in the lounge of the hotel, patiently (very patiently) trying to upload the pictures for this blog........we got tired and called it a night!


15th November 2007

Look'in Good
Pat: Thanks for your daily current events updates and pictures of the area, travelers and of course the many "mouth watering" food choices of each country. Dawn looks great celebrating her "29"th and Keith, what a lovely "bunch of coconuts". Hello to Jan and Keith, Dawn and John, the R's and The B's..........with envy from the Z's
15th November 2007

Not to close
Hi Joan, I can see that you are having a great time....... but not to close to that ......gentleman...... I'll keep an eye on that.......:o>>> bye
16th November 2007

Ralph Lauren
Hi Pat.. Ben appears to be wearing a new Ralph Lauren shirt. It reminds me of our little couple on the motor bike selling 'Ralp Lauren' In 2006. Did you meet up with the same couple? We are enjoying the journey. Diane Zeppilli
16th November 2007

hello from New Zealand
Hello Pat, We are continuing to enjoy sharing your wonderful Northern Tour with your blog........We really do wish we were there! Cambodia was probably one of our favourite places. We are travelling around the South Island of New Zealand and loving it. The scenery is unbelievable. We can see why they filmed Lord of the Rings here; rainforest, ocean, desert, alps. It is all here. We went on a little tour in the forest to see real "kiwis" after dark....we did see some and it was the highlight of our trip so far. So hello from New Zealand and keep up the wonderful blog! Kevin and Gail Nally Green Group 2006
17th November 2007

questions
Hi Pat when you get home can you tell me a word in Cambodian.I can play Are You Sleeping and A Hunting We Will Go for you on the accordion at home.Bi, Pat.
17th November 2007

SCHOOL UPDATE!
Good afternoon aunt Pat, we have started a new science unit in school on "light".I'm very sorry,but I can't show you my project because my teacher took it to mark; I hope your not to sad about this. A few questions,when are you going to Egypt?,are you having fun?,and where are you going next?. I'll write to you again soon. Ben F.
18th November 2007

I'm not sleeping now!!!!!
Hi Evan! Thank you for your note. I just had a great sleep and was really happy to see your note when I got up. It sounds like you are doing a great job with your accordion lessons! Good for you! I look forward to sharing a lot with you when I get home and yes, I can tell you a few words in Cambodian! I miss you and love you lots. Happy Aunt Pat
18th November 2007

Good morning, Ben!
You seem to be having a great time with all the science projects in school! You and Evan would have enjoyed our dinner entertainment last night; he was a magician! And he was very good. We leave for Dubai tomorrow and I am looking forward to that. Last year, that is where I had so much fun!!!! From there, we go to Nairobi, Kenya and then on Nov. 25, we will be in Luxor, Cairo, Egypt. I will get some good photos of the animals for you! I am having a lot of fun, Ben, and making some new friends. Thank you for your note! Happy Aunt Pat

Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 27; dbt: 0.022s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb