Like an Asian India


Advertisement
Burma's flag
Asia » Burma
April 17th 2008
Published: May 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The port town of Kaw Thuang seems like it has been forgotten a long time ago. I've been many places in Southeast Asia and I can say this was one of the smelliest, dirties, most trashed up little towns yet. I haven't been to India yet, but it is what I imagine the Ganges looks like, only all the people a little yellower instead of browner (and of course not as big or as crowded.) Trash piled up to nowhere on the banks of the water, trash piled up on the streets but not hidden away like in Indonesia, just you know, laying out like they're all trying to get some sun or something. It's a place such that if standing water splashed on my ankle, I would probably try to wash it off straight away.
The kids were running around, albeit quite happy, but with huge open sores (some gone black) and to tell you the truth I don't even know how you get sores like those. I'm not going to write much on this one.
This was a short stop after our diving in Myanmar ended and we were sailing back over down to Thailand. The Burmese government keeps your passports for the 5 days or whatever you spend while you're in Burmese waters. A little disconcerting.



Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



28th May 2008

Amita! so glad you were there before the horrible cyclone, come visit in spain soon!

Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0307s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb