Places People Never Visit


Advertisement
Burma's flag
Asia » Burma
September 3rd 2023
Published: September 3rd 2023
Edit Blog Post

We have all been to places we wished we never went. And we know of places we never want to visit.

Places I will never return: Myanmar (Burma), a very abusive and intrusive military junta. My visit was pleasant enough, but it was during a time of "structured peace" which did not last very long. Yet, I found it both interesting and uneventful.

Polish-Ukraine border, my volunteer effort there seemed fruitless, I was not allowed to see the refugee camps, or the people "housed" there. I had to give up my cell phone each day while I sorted medical supplies for the clinics.

Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, where I got sicker than ever on my travels. We saw open sewage lines, just outside the best hotel in the city. You could not pay me to go back!

Biosphere, sadly, a real waste of time, and very humid inside.

Underwater caves, for me any kind of cave is problematic, even the relatively open caves of Halong Bay in Vietnam. I could not wait to get out!


The Ghetto Stadium, aka Dodger Stadium, badly needs an update!


The Florida Everglades, what possessed me to go. Maybe it was the Keys?


Though I have been to Alaska three times, I do not need to go back. I have seen the glaciers, the pipeline, the Aurora Borealis, the sled dogs, and enjoyed many fish dinners. It is brutal during the winter months, and unbearably long in the summer months.

Places I will never go:

North Korea, though it sounds interesting, I do not trust their government. The American soldier who defected there will probably not last through the end of the year or end up in jail. It is a brutal regime, often utilizing torture.

Venezuela, as corrupt as any country in the world, with danger lurking everywhere, inconsistent policing and law enforcement for visitors. But they excel in two areas: they have tons of oil, and even more tons of Miss Universe contestants.

El Salvador seems like it is home to cartels and their own mafia. Coachella or Burning Man, I leave it to you younger people. Those days are over for me.

China, as I never had much desire to go, except for the ice festival in Harbin. Scratch it off the list. Again, I do not trust their police, researchers (Covid), or anti-American politics.

Dubai, why?

Antarctica, people go just to say they have been there, is that a good reason to spend $5000 to get there and see nothing?

Ukraine, though I was given an opportunity to visit, for free, back in 2014, I declined. It was a bad place even before Pooohtin invaded.

Afghanistan, rather dangerous, wouldn't you say? Somalia, you must be crazy, you might never return, like Gilligan!

How do I decide? Even if you paid my way, I would not go!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 15; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0312s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb