Yangon, Myanmar (Burma)


Advertisement
Burma's flag
Asia » Burma » Yangon Region » Yangon
August 15th 2013
Published: September 25th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Getting my hair doneGetting my hair doneGetting my hair done

By the hair stylist of the actors in a movie shot at the restaurant we were eating at
"On Aug 15th we flew to Yangon, Myanmar again and saw our friends again. Next we went to our hotel, the Savoy, and went for a swim with my friend. Since our friends were at the same hotel, we went to their room for a little bit. Finally, we went to dinner. I ordered really spicy rice and Pad Thai. We stayed for a while because they were filming a movie. The hair stylist did my hair. Then we went back to the hotel and slept." - Sofia Journal Entry Aug 15, 2013

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________



_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Daddy's Comments:

We met our German friends at the airport and since we were staying at the same hotel, their guide let us go with them to the hotel. When we arrived at the hotel there was a little issue. They had my reservation for the following night. While I think the issue was that I booked on line and due to the time difference between Miami and Rangon, it put the next day (This did actually happen when I booked something in Luang Prabang and the company told me that was the issue) who knows. Usually check things multiple times.... Anyway, the told me there was no rooms available. Then, after talking to the manager they decided to give us there only room left....upgrading us to a suite at no extra charge. I was very relieved.

The room was incredible, definitely the nicest I have ever stayed in. The bathroom itself was bigger than some of the rooms I have stayed in with and without Sofia while travelling abroad. Wow. While Sofia absolutely loved the room, she had her mind set on getting into the pool with Lyn, so as I started packing for the trip home, she was in the pool.

After a pre-dinner bottle of wine, we headed for a Thai restaurant nearby the hotel that our friends highly recommended. The food was awesome but the experience was even better as they just so happened to be filming a movie there. Sofia met some of the actors and actresses, and then Lyn's mom asked if the hair stylist wanted to do the girls hair, and he did. Kind of a bizarre scene - Sofia getting her hair done by a movie sets hair stylist in a Thai restaurant in Burma, but it was a blast.
Having Fun at the Thai RestaurantHaving Fun at the Thai RestaurantHaving Fun at the Thai Restaurant

Rangon, Myanmar with Lyn and her mom


However,the walk back to the hotel was a low point on the trip. The sidewalks in Rangon are horrendous. All of a sudden a large piece of the sidewalk can be missing and lead down to drainage way/? sewer water about 2-3 feet below. It was dark and Lyn was right in front of her parents and dropped into one scraping her leg very badly. No broken bones or lacerations needing stitching, but some pretty bad large abrasions. We took her to her room and cleaned them off and I took out my first aid kit and we cleaned, wrapped, antibiotic cream. Sofia helped Lyn a lot through it and I was very proud of her. Lyn was going to be fine but it was not the best way to end our great time with them. Hopefully our paths will cross again.

That being said, Sofia and I stayed very healthy on this trip. No illnesses, not even traveler's diarrhea which we both have had on a few of our adventures. Did great with our malaria medications (this was the first time that we both did not take mefloquine because this part of SE Asia has resistance to mefloquine) and the DEET kept the mosquitos away (I think Sofia only got a 3-4 bites only, as she gets quite a bit of local reaction). The only "not good" things on this trip that happened was my laptop dying half way through (which was probably a good thing and kept my away from working more) and one pair of my shoes being stolen by a dog or human.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

What a RoomWhat a Room
What a Room

Savoy Hotel - Rangon
Savoy  HotelSavoy  Hotel
Savoy Hotel

Loved the pool
Our Awesome BathroomOur Awesome Bathroom
Our Awesome Bathroom

Savoy Hotel - Rangon


Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0516s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb