NOW IN MYANMAR


Advertisement
Burma's flag
Asia » Burma » Eastern Burma » Tachileik
October 18th 2007
Published: October 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Now in MyanmarNow in MyanmarNow in Myanmar

border of Thailand and Myanmar
Still Thursday 18th October
I am now in the town of Tachileik in Myanmar. Probably sounds as though I am on the go and wearing myself to a frazzle. May seem like it but I have time to "recover" from my "doings" on the buses, planes, tuk tuks and boats. Just to reassure those of you who may be thinking I am overdoing. As usual, I seem to get a tuk tuk as soon as I arrive at my destination as they are very helpful and obliging. I stopped at a lovely temple and then went to a beautiful stupa. The view is quite pretty and you overlook the town. Met a very helpful man who told me a "safe" hotel to stay in. It was then onto visit the a tribal market and saw a short musical performance and then to a ruby shop. I then went to my hotel. Once again, the people were helpful and gave me directions and advice as I was walking along. I got the feeling that this city was quite poor and there was an odour from the open drains. I ended up having a meal just around from my hotel. A local man came and sat at the next table and started having a conversation and he was very interesting. Then out of the blue he said he would pay for my meal and before I could answer he was at the counter paying and then came back, said it was nice meeting me and said goodbye! Before going back to hotel, I went the way I was told to go for an internet cafe, but somehow I don't think I made myself understood as there was none but on the way back, met a dear little boy who came running up to me. He was not at all shy and fascinated by my earrings. He had a long chat to me and was pointing to various things but of course I did not know a thing he was saying but guessed. Said bye bye to him and then to hotel for a nice hot shower (a luxury) and to bed. Thought I would make this trip into Myanmar to complete the part of the Golden Triangle - Thailand, Laos and Myanmar and sounds good to have said I was in three countries in one day.



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

In TackhilekIn Tackhilek
In Tackhilek

Hitting the bell as directed 9 times !!!


Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0586s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb