Sleepless in Bandar Seri Begawan.


Advertisement
Brunei's flag
Asia » Brunei » Bandar Seri Begawan
July 10th 2008
Published: July 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Let me set a scene for you - there are three of us on this trip and for these two nights we have shared a room with three beds. So far so good! Last ight I slept like a log after travelling for 24 hours with very little sleep, so tonight I assumed I would do the same again. Not a bit of it!!

We came in after our meal at the local fast food street market, I chose noodles and sadly some chicken, which turned out to be chickens tails or the Parson's Nose and not being at all fond of them I left them, but really enjoyed the coconut milk which was served in a hacked out coconut. It was clear though, not milky like my previous experiences of the natural drink. Perhaps because the nut was green and not the brown hairy one that we try to knock off the coconut shies! So we prepared for bed, put in the ear plugs, turned off the lights and settled down.

Well I thought the other two had. I just could not sleep and as I was not at home, didn't feel that I could reasonably turn the
poolpoolpool

these are downloaded in the dark as the others are trying to sleep = bad typing
light on to read. After about 4 hours of trying all the relaxation practices known, I gave up and went into the bathroom to read. Nothing like a cold marble wall to send me to sleep I thought! Hmm, 40mins later and in a state of some numbness I crawled back into bed, only to find Shirley was awake, then Christiane too!

What do you do in these situations? Make tea of course, two of us are British! Then I offered them some dried cherries and that almost finished us off. (Christiane is French and has a wonderful accent and we have forsworn alcohol in deference to Muslim laws and also to give our livers a rest) At three in the morning Christiane almost shouted "Dry sherry?!!" whereupon we fell about giggling madly. Shirley then moaned about being piggy in the middle and having to pass the packet back ond forth, so we were instructed to take a handful (oh life can be tough at ties!!), all three of us then ruminated quietly until this very French voice said she wished it was 'a bloddy dry sherry!!' LOTS more giggling and two films later I have read half a novel and written this which you probably won't find funny, but it helped me!

Only four more hours until they open the swimming pool...



Advertisement



12th July 2008

So
you managed to find a swimsuit then? If you manage 5 weeks without a drink you lot, then miracles DO happen! Have fun
12th July 2008

miracles
What are you inferring?!!! We've managed four days without and Labuan is like alcohol city = well Shirl claims it is.
13th July 2008

All for one and one for all........
I think that should be our motto, don't you?? I hope climbing K doesn't prove harder than cycling across America. I expect to do this rather slowly. Get that kettle on when I get back down. S xxx
16th July 2008

All for one...
So what will our names be I wonder, kettle boiling and the marmite ready!!

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 8; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0509s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb