It's hot here!


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Sabah » Sandakan
July 16th 2008
Published: July 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

We travelled here by bus from the national park, leaving a good breeze and some rain, to come to a sauna and rain~ it is MUGGY!

I am not on my own little machine at the mo, so no photos, but yesterday we saw the Rafflesia in flower at a garden just outside the National Park. It really is an incredible plant = just a fower at the moment, about 60cm across. There were also clumps of lemon grass and the vanilla orchid growing up a tree, I would love to see some more of those. We visited a butterfly farm and also did a canopy walk - this time W1 and H1, I did it with my eyes open and glasses on! It was about 45m high - high enough for me. There is another one that Christiane wants to visit so the vertigo is getting a hammering yet again!

I need some help from someone - did Winnie the Pooh have a tune he hummed whilst waiting fo rhte bees to make honey? I have been reading Bill Bryson who talks about humming a waiting for hte lift tune, so I hum a waiting-for-the-bus tune, strangely the others are not too impressed! I keep saying there is a great tradition, but.. where is their sense of occasion I wonder?

Whilst waiting for the buses, if I am the one standing at the roadside, I get hooted at a lot by passing drivers, the others do not. I need no explanation - Shirl has explained it: she is very concerned that my hair colouring will also cause problems when we go to visit the orang utangs. Perhaps they will see more because I am there - LOL!!!

The food at the lodge we stayed at for the last two nights has been excellent - their dishes of veg were incredibly good, and the soup was yummy. We are slowly learning the names of the veg and other dishes, tonight I think the cooking has more Indian influence, so we'll see what happens with that.

We are all impressed by the country, it is looking to the future and working towards it with a vengeance. The road structures are well maintained, the bus service is incredibly good and cheap. We travelled for four hours today in an air conditioned bus for aboiut 5pounds 50 p. (No pound sign here on the computer! however, there is a Duchess of Kent hospital!!) The phonecalls are cheap so communication is easy. And people communicate with each other all the time, they are also incredibly friendly towards us. We need to look to our laurels as far as the future is concerned.

Advertisement



16th July 2008

well done
also from H1, one day you'll do a parachute jump
16th July 2008

Get thee behind me...
Do NOT put that idea in my head!! Hope hte week-end in Wales was good? Sorry to have missed it, but the birthday party could not be missed!
16th July 2008

Wales
that is Wales and not Whales. It was good, still have some cuts and bruises which seem to take a long time to fade.
16th July 2008

H1 and W1?
No idea of the titles you gave these, but is it all in the head? Well done - you'll have to clean your glasses for the next one!
16th July 2008

Malaysia
When you travel, are there certain souviners you collect, such as snow globes, or matchbooks?
16th July 2008

Enough Indeed
Hi Lizzie-P. 45 metres is plenty high enough for anyone who isn't barmy, certainly much too high for me but sounds good. Hair colouring sounds interesting, let us know more in time. So pleased you are enjoying it all. John B
17th July 2008

souvenirs
I try to buy a decoration for my christmas tree and also a small sweet tin Tami.
18th July 2008

Interesting??
Hi Lizzie-P. Just received an e-mail from my mate Roger in Wellington NZ. He tells me that the Desert Road that you travelled earlier this year is currently blocked by SNOW and the HEP on the South Island is functioning well, plenty of water though there is still drought in the Nelson area.!! John B
21st July 2008

Kiwis
Hi John, we have just spent a few days with a Kiwi family who have taken a year out from work - very friendly. That road would be horrendous in the snow, it was a corker in the autumn - steep sides and some of it is a rough track ....
21st July 2008

I also
bring a little sand back from the best beach that I visit. I have already picked some up on this trip!

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 27; dbt: 0.035s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb