A nostalgic evening


Advertisement
Brunei's flag
Asia » Brunei » Bandar Seri Begawan
September 3rd 2007
Published: September 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Today, Auntie Alice and uncle george took me alllllllllll the way to Bandar (capital city about 1hr and 15mins away). Our first pit stop was the Brunei museum where I met a Gurkha (Nepalese soldier) guard. Apparently, he knew my father. What a small country ahha.

The museum was nice. It wasn’t the most exciting thing in the world, but its something everyone should at least experience once.

After the museum, we headed over to Kampung Ayer (Water village). It’s basically a village that is built on water. Unfortunately, I didn’t have enough time to go on a tour of kampong ayer, so I just stood on land while taking photos of the village and the gazillion water taxis.

Met up with cico for lunch and headed off to the Yayasan complex (or w/e its called). Its basically a shopping mall built by the royal family (I think). Again, tried to find stuff for dad, but didn’t have anything. Instead just bought myself a shirt mwhehe.

After the mall, Uncle george took us to see the new Parliament building. It almost looks like the white house. I didn’t even know that Brunei had a parliament (it’s an absolute monarchy).

The evening was a nostalgic one. Uncle george took me to BSRC. I used to do tae kwon do there with him! Ahha. He was taking his son, Brandon, to tae kwon do. While they were tae kwon do’ing, I headed over to the badminton courts at BSRC. My dad use to always play there and I’d tag along. The gym was nice! It changed quite a bit since I last remembered it.

I met a few malays and just started talking. Apparently, no more Gurkhas (Nepalese soldiers like my dad) play there anymore which was quite disappointing. A few guys asked me to play, but after telling them that I didn’t have a racket, they took back their request ahah. I had the urge to play though lol.

At 6:30PM, I dashed out of the gym and ran for about 5 mins to the field with the nodding donkey (oil field thing). I wanted to take photos of the sunset with the nodding donkey in it! Got some photos, but it was quite uncomfortable to walk around the field since it had pretty tall grass and lots lots of insects.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0333s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb