Adventure Day in the Jungle


Advertisement
Brunei's flag
Asia » Brunei » Bandar Seri Begawan
September 4th 2007
Published: September 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

This day turned out to be pretty Adventurous! The plan was to go to labi and drive way south to the interior to visit the ibans in the longhouses (native borneo people in the interior of Brunei).

The first longhouse we visited was named Mendaram. Emie’s (my friend) family is the leader of that longhouse so it was pretty cool. We were greeted by this extremely old lady, and another old man. The lady was about 4 - 4.5 ft tall, but unfortunately I couldn’t get a photo of her (felt kind of rude too).

For the next hour or so, we basically sat around and talked. Bapa knew the old man, and more and more ibans started coming out of their ‘doors’ and greeted us. The old man also knew my family (including my aunts and uncles). They were very kind and gave us tea and biscuits. The people were also very nice to let me take close up photos of them.

After Mendaram, we went to another longhouse called Teraja. Apparently my grandfather's mother's cousin lives in this longhouse. They also knew my family. The old woman in the longhouse was making a very interesting mat. Took some photos of her which turned out quite well. The old man was also very interesting; he had a lot of tattoos around his body.

We sat around for about 30 mins and then we headed to Sg. Liang (Sg = Sungai = River). This place was basically a tourist attraction that involves a lot of nature. It had trails to go into the jungle and ponds with fishes and turtles. I took a very interesting but short walk through the jungle for a little while. Lots, and LOTS of insects and LOTS and lots of LOUD noises.

In the evening I went to Didi's house to sleepover. Had a great dinner which auntie Quilan cooked. Most of the night, I was showing the family my brother's wedding photos and family photos. Spent some time watching tv with didi and went to sleep in my cozy room.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0443s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb