Full, Gluttony or Blessing?


Advertisement
Bhutan's flag
Asia » Bhutan » Paro
September 28th 2007
Published: September 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Today I spent the day hiking…sorta…apparently my hike is a good warmup for some of the other treks in the country, but I thought it was pretty tough! We were hiking to get to Tiger’s Nest, Taktshang Goemba, which sits on a cliff just outside of Paro. It’s supposed to be a two hour hike…most people take longer, I of course did it in less. Not that I was trying to rush but more I needed the workout! It was fun and Tshultrim was definitely out of breath at my pace. Anyway, this was well worth the heat and the scary part of a very small path along very steep cliffs with no railing. It is crazy how this monastery sits up on a cliff…looks like it is clinging on for dear life!

We started at like 830 and finished with everything including the lunch I feasted and stuffed myself on around 230…Afterwards, Tshultrim and I went into town to play a game of snooker…which is similar to pool except there are extra balls and a scoring system. Fun nonetheless!

Again for dinner I feasted…you would think I haven’t eaten in days…it was an interesting topic at dinner as Tshultrim says it is a blessing to be full and that I am therefore a happy person…I dunno…I still feel full and its hours later… speaking, thank goodness I have had a pretty solid stomach… well see what happens when I get to my next destination, but for now I am happy!

Ive been having the craziest vivid dreams lately. I am not taking any malaria meds either…its kind of weird…not nightmares but just realistic dreams…I should be writing them down, but I forget….



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



21st November 2007

bhutan
Yes, bhutan does indeed sound interesting... thanks for the blog adress and a good, impressing and save trip! Stephan (the guy from Strung Tren with the Minibus on the wrong side of the river...)

Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 87; dbt: 0.0785s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb