What Happiness & Pride Look Like


Advertisement
Bangladesh's flag
Asia » Bangladesh » Dhaka
December 3rd 2007
Published: December 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Professor Yunus and Grameen Bank won the Nobel Peace Prize last year. Outside the Grameen Trust Auditorium (a stark facility) on the wall are many pictures that captured the happiness and pride that the employees of Grameen and citizens of Bangladesh felt at that time,.

Eighty four Grameen Board members and top management were taken by private plane provided by the Nobel Committee to Oslo Norway for the presentation. This included all 9 Board Members who are borrowers elected by their peers. Many of them had never been more than 20 miles from their villages.

Take a look in the faces in the pictures and join me in honoring these extraordinary people from Bangladesh - the poorest large country in the world - a Muslim country. I think there is much to learn from all of this. I know it touches me deeply and I have been honored to be with these people for 10 days. In case you haven't already figured it out - I am crying with joy for these people and their goodness and the incredible hospitality that they have provided to 20 of us from all over the world who have come to learn from them.

As I write this I am aware that I have come here not only to learn from these people but to honor them. Today, at my final presentation where I will speak of the next steps that I intend to do in moving theory to practice - I will tell them so. Hope I make it through it.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.248s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 49; dbt: 0.046s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb