The Beggars


Advertisement
Bangladesh's flag
Asia » Bangladesh » Dhaka
December 3rd 2007
Published: December 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Last night I went out to dinner with Dr. B.N Kulkani who heads up Grameen Trusts operation in India and Niranjan Sheelavant who has a new microcredit operation in India. Both have been very supportive of me and would like me to come to India to learn from and help them. Dr. Kulkani made an hour presentation on microcredit in India. He plans to introduce me today to Grameen people who are in charge of their social business section.

There are beggars of every type here, shriveled up old women, deformed young men, and lots and lots of children everywhere. Last night the children were very aggressive and hanging all over me. My friends from India worked very hard to keep them off of me to no avail. They were only interested in me - not in my friends from India - as they looked the same as natives of Bangladesh. One quickly realizes that there is no way to be responsive to these beggars without having hundreds of them hanging all over you in no time. One learns to pretty well block them out of mind quickly - one would not survive otherwise. But then my compassionate side looks into the eyes of these kids and feels dissappointed that I can not respond in a more humanitarian way and only hope that what I am doing with microcredit will somehow impact another group of children some other day. Then one thinks of - but for the grace of God go I.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



3rd December 2007

Santa in Bagladesh
Marty, even if you would have taken your Santa Suit and walked down the street you could not have looked more like Saint Nick with the begger kids. What a wonderful happy smile is on your face. I think these children sense that you will be bringing them a better world in the near future. There is a glow about this picture that warms the heart. Glad you are there planting seeds for their future. Lynn
3rd December 2007

Hi Marty
This is fascinating, reading your blog - Ron J. told us about it, and mentioned how happy he and your mom will be when you return. What an adventure! My cousin lived in India many years ago, and she agreed with you about the poor children. If you help one of them, hundreds more suddenly appear, and you're overwhelmed. Well, keep up the good work, and thanks for sharing it with us. Ron K. and Barbara
4th December 2007

Your calling
Sorry I have not responded to your e-mails. My dad died 111/18 and we took him back to Indy for a burial. Just got back last night. Have seen your logs and I applaud you for your devotion. It seems like this might be your calling. See you when you return. Namste' Aggie

Tot: 0.243s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0356s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb