A Wonderful Experience in Chiang Mai


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
November 20th 2015
Published: November 20th 2015
Edit Blog Post

As a travel enthusiast, I love to visit new and familiar places across the globe. One of the places I have wanted to visit for a while is Thailand. After talking with some Thai friends and doing some of my own research, I decided to visit Chiang Mai, which is in north Thailand.

As a traveler who loves mountains, I was pleasantly surprised at how beautiful the surrounding countryside is around Chiang Mai. My travels took my past numerous rice fields, and I looked forward to seeing an old city that is full of life and vibrancy. I was immediately drawn to the center of the city, which is known as the walled city . The government has spent countless amounts of money making sure that the walls are in decent condition. Apparently, there are over 30 temples in the old city, and each one has a unique style.

When I traveled across the city, I found myself walking on an occasional basis. There are plenty of motorcycle and bicycle rentals that are available. I decided to rent a motorcycle for a day, and I did not need medical insurance in Thailand in order to drive. People are definitely unique drivers in Chiang Mai, and I found myself making instant decisions based on traffic. I had a map of the city, and I looked at the map before I went on my way. There was one occasion on my travels that I decided to travel by means of a samlor, which is a bicycle that has three wheels. It was a leisurely pace, and it gave me a fun experience to see some buildings and take many pictures.

Part of my time was spent within the city walls of Chiang Mai. With the abundance of temples in and around the city walls, I decided to visit one of the most famous ones. Therefore, I visit Wat Phra Singh, which is more than 600 years old. The murals are incredible to view, and the price for admission was certainly reasonable. I cannot count the number of Buddha's that I saw while in the old city. Some were incredibly huge and were featured in temples. Others were the size of a purse and could be purchased for a fee from a local street vendor.

One of the reasons why I wanted to visit Chiang Mai is because of the fantastic arts and culture that the city boasts. The Chiang Mai City Arts & Cultural Centre provided me and other visitors with an amazing taste of the history of the area. There were numerous pictures, photographs and architecture of the community. I had no idea of the royalty that lived in the area, of various kings who fought and ruled the land and the sense of style that natives had throughout the centuries. The Queen Sirikit Botanical Garden is the oldest one of the country. It features beautiful flowers and vegetation. Furthermore, there are endangered species I had never seen before. I enjoyed getting an amazing massage that was close to my hotel. Like many other centers, Fah Lanna Massage provides an excellent experience as I enjoyed pure relaxation.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.201s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 26; dbt: 0.1469s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb