Living in a Freezer


Advertisement
Antarctica » Temp
March 10th 2006
Published: March 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well Hello and Howdy doody to all,

Finally I can´t believe that this little jaunt is over. As you will see by some photos, the TARDIS wasn´t working two weeks ago so unfortunately i had to take the long way down to Ushuaia from Buenos Aires in an Aerolineas Argentina plane. But I finally made it and even had time for a guiness at the local irish pub.

I did a little trip around the Tierra del Fuego national park to check out some of the local wildlife and then it was onto the little red boat - sorry ship- i will get that right eventually. Much like a big red freezer really, Good thing i brought my special koala size hat with me to keep my little ears warm. Pity i´m still freezin my furry butt sitting on the deck.

I had to stay in my cabin the first day as I had a terrible case of seasickness and unfortunately kwells while wonderful for the humans on board are fatal to koalas.

First stop day two was Elephant island and my first trip in a zodiac boat and my first look at the many little pinguinos
Tierra Del FuegoTierra Del FuegoTierra Del Fuego

At the end of the world
that live here. All was happy with them and their lives until an ugly mean leopard seal jumped out of the water , grabbed one and made dinner out of it closely watched by about 100 petrels waiting for scraps.

Day three saw us into Antarctic Sound with lots of ice and bergs. And four days of landings at different parts of Antarctica and the South Shetland Islands have followed. What can I say. Scenery spectacular, weather has been extemely kind to us all with the sun out each day bar one. And yesterday morning it was only minus four and snowing when I woke, very warm indeed!!!

Unfortunately after a fantastic two weeks i have had to return to Ushuaia to further my travels. Will be sleeping in the TARDIS on route to next destination as I pulled an all nighter at the Irish place (where else?) with the rest of the passengers as a last hurrah.

Love to All

Godfey


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Tree DayTree Day
Tree Day

I know its not a eucalypt but its all i could find!
Iceberg Dead AheadIceberg Dead Ahead
Iceberg Dead Ahead

Where´s Leo to save me?
Iceberg SurfingIceberg Surfing
Iceberg Surfing

I couldn´t resist the urge to jump on an ice floe while here.
Los PinGu¨inosLos PinGu¨inos
Los PinGu¨inos

With my new friends
Zodiac cruisingZodiac cruising
Zodiac cruising

Safe for the day after being rescued from the ice


3rd April 2006

Heloo there friends, your holiday snaps thus far look totally amazing. we are all so envious. would love to send some happy snaps back but a photo of the waiting room just does not cut it. Suppose you will never complain about adelaide's winter again. We went on our cruise last weekend. No beanies required. the weather was just perfect. 33 degrees and crystal clear waters. it was the most relaxed people had been in a long time. Looking forward to hearing about your new adentures in South America. so unti then, take care. Luv Kelli
3rd May 2006

too much eucylyptus
there is a cuddly koala in each picture. can you find them?

Tot: 0.247s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 72; dbt: 0.0559s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb