Goa, Brasil, Ibiza... LuxuryGoaVillas


Advertisement
Antarctica's flag
Antarctica » Antarctica
November 25th 2009
Published: November 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Follow the lightFollow the lightFollow the light

Steps to eternity



Plop!

Oh, no! What was that?

What was that thud?

What just landed on my bed in the middle of the night?

Should I just not move and see if it goes away? Was I dreaming?

Hey!

It moved, I felt something and heard it too!

Ok, have to reach out from under the covers and turn the light on...

Click.

Nothing.

Plop! Plop!

Yes!

There it is!

Phew!

Not a snake falling on my bed after all!

A frog, trapped in the lampshade!

After dismantling the shade and throwing the slimy, bug-eyed creature out of the window into the tropical garden, I tried to get back to sleep.

Mission impossible.

The neighborhood dogs have decided to have a loud and obnoxious noise-fest and the mad-men have decided to join in too... just another peaceful night in Goa.

Anyway, after fighting off the roaming mosquitoes and blocking my ears, I managed to grab a few winks.

In the morning, the monkeys running across the roof rocked me out of my short slumber... oh well, I am living in
New Job?New Job?New Job?

Losing weight with heavy fruit
the jungle after all!

After delicious coffee prepared by my darling, busy-bee auntie, I start to open the gate to go to rent luxury villas in paradise.

Something shiny catches my eye.

I freeze.

Snake!

No, really!

This time it is not a figment of my imagination.

There is a meter-long green grass snake happily slithering along just under my bike!

What a way to begin the day!

Anyway, I get on the bike and zoom along to work, dodging the cows lying in the middle of the road, lifting my feet up in the air when some of those naughty dogs try to nip my precious ankles, annoyed at me disrupting their sleep (why don't they sleep at night?), swerving around the free-roaming pigs that are the designated recyclers of the ex-jewel of the Portuguese crown.

At work, things get off to a roaring start, laptops plugged in, internet connected, daily emails ready to be answered, cup of tea ready, and...

Power Cut!

What now?

Er, um, well, how long does your battery last? What can we do offline?

Then, Jayashree, the cleaning lady, comes
StormStormStorm

It's Sue and Me... Maybe TSUNAMI!
running in, ashen, saying there is a snake on the verandah!

You must be kidding!

Now, this one is a small brown snake with a pointy head, I think I recall having heard that they are poisonous...but, I'm not sure.

Anyway, guess who gets the honour of asking it to leave?

Naturalmente!

I found a stick, a long stick, a very, very long stick and lifted the little friend into the air, until it moved and fell back down...

Luckily, it had already had breakfast, no coffee, so it moved lethargically and I could pick it up again and throw it over the wall.

Where were we?

Ah! Yes! Tea time!

On my way back in, there was a loud thud just to my left...What now?

Nothing much, just a coconut trying to exact a last victory before leaving to a new dimension!

Then, the power returned and we could proceed to have a productive day, although, at night, a not-so-friendly cyclone hit and we had to spend the night pushing buckets under the leaks... so, no sleep again!


Just another day in Goa!

I
The OfficeThe OfficeThe Office

Snakes and coconuts, beware!
have made a friend here, despite it not yet being the full tourist season...

A German who lives most of the year in Rio... We actually speak Portuguese together, although we did try German one day... sounded funny after our conversations of Floripa, Tijuca and all the other belezas naturais!

Brasil!

After two years traipsing around the globe, it is where I felt best on my travels...

Eu tenho saudade do Brasil!

So, why am I in Goa in one cyclone after another, feeling like I am in Antarctica, when I could be making wine on Ibiza????????


Perhaps I can find an answer in my next blog...
Or, as I dodge another dog...


In the meantime, I would like to welcome Olivia in San Francisco and Leonardo on Ibiza, to this planet of natural wonders and wonderful natures!

Peace and Alegria!



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

The NetThe Net
The Net

Flying coconuts
Tiny and sweetTiny and sweet
Tiny and sweet

Dangerous???
LightLight
Light

Solar power
Smile!Smile!
Smile!

3 Kids, All day selling on the beach, still dazzling!
SnakeSnake
Snake

By night!
Pink Champagne?Pink Champagne?
Pink Champagne?

The local Tiger drink.
Sour Grapes?Sour Grapes?
Sour Grapes?

Homemade sweet wine on Ibiza.


25th November 2009

Never a dull moment!
See you are doing wonderful,lots of love to rest of the family and a big hug!! Weather here absolutely gorgeous so I am out to enjoy as much as I can because we all know it can change any minute. So was that "little" snake poisonous??!! xx Ilona
25th November 2009

cada día mejor!
este posiblemente es el más tierno y alegre de todos textos. eso es que tu corazón sigue creciendo. el mundo necesita personas sencillas, humildes y activas. gracias por compartir y hacer reir. besos rey! love
25th November 2009

keep 'em coming!!
Howdy Mr. M. Great to hear from you!
26th November 2009

busan. korea
hi do you remember me? i'm hyunhee i busan ipark where are u? ^^ looks good!! good luck you'r travel!!
26th November 2009

merci
I've had the same nights in Goa, brought me right back to 14 years ago.... The worst was lying on those fuzzy bugs that give you welts. Animo hermano! Hope it works out there, otherwise Brasil sounds good. Ibiza, ya sabes lo que hay. Keep the blogging up, me haces reir y sonreir :) un abrazo, KAruna
26th November 2009

snakes alive
Dearly Beloved, Cobras move across the room....Kraits, vipers and poisonwallahs of the "no-time-for-antidote" tribe(like us!?) hug the walls....all of them should be treated as a precious friend, in case, as you stroke...they scratch....like us. Unless it was all just for dramatic effect...a saucer of milk will make friends of the room-crossers.The others are like life : full of surprises. Dar ayad durust ayad..=better late than never, and, natch..we do want to see you again.
28th November 2009

milk
Thank you for the poetic milk tale, in case I ever find myself at the mercy of such a tail! For this once, the pole and dexterity was sufficient and so very efficient! I trust all is well and that you are swell! Best wishes and warmest regards!
1st December 2009

snakehandler
Melchior You are amazing my friend. So brave and so calm when it comes to snakes! You look great Melchior. Whatever you are doing, it seems to agree with you. If your travels ever bring you to the East Coast of the US, pls stop in Phila for a visit. Much love, Ger and Jean
2nd December 2009

In forma come sempre...
Ciao cavallo! Non ti chiedo come stai perchè il tuo sorriso parla da solo. Ti seguiamo sempre all aroud the world, e spero di rivederti un giorno. Per farci due risate insieme, bere una birra e giocare a calcio: il must della vita insomma! A presto
23rd December 2009

Hola peixet! com sempre es un goig llegir el teu blog, i saber-te bé. Esper que gaudeixis de tot i molt, de manera que aquest somrriure teu romangui sempre present als teus llavis i il.lumini els teus ulls. Best wishes and much Love!

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0311s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb