Family, Football, Swiss Smiles and Volcanoes


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-East » Locarno
March 29th 2010
Published: April 21st 2010
Edit Blog Post

DreamDreamDream

no words...

Fifa, Family and Friends




I had the Cup in my hands!

A dream, a childhood fantasy, fulfilled for a fleeting flight of floating fancy!

No disappointed emotional reactions... no regrets of unfulfilled expectations, no suffering... just curiosity.

Hmmm! I must be getting somewhere!

Oh, well!

What did we expect way back when, would we expect it today?
Would we want it now?
What do we expect now for later?
Will we want it then?

Are there any expectations for right now? Is that even possible?

I was expecting to leave for Ethiopia via London last Thursday, thanks to Iceland, I had to re-direct, re-think, re-plan... at least I have learned not to re-expect!

So now, the metamorphosis of a small venture into a full-blown organisation with a re-arrangement of itinerary, dates and composition.

We are now going to be three intrepid Footballsmilesers as Jordi's girlfriend Vanessa is joyfully joining us on our journey!

She is a cheerful addition to the expedition, as we have already travelled together in India and Brazil with plenty of shared smiles and anecdotes to add to our travel notes!

With the cloud of
The CageThe CageThe Cage

Set them free!
canceled connections, Addis Abeba and Ethiopia have had to be sacrificed until another, sunnier day. The game is always full of surprises!

As with all clouds, there is that silver lining which is that I shall now be able to attend my dear sister's wedding on Thursday!
The date had not yet been fixed when I booked my original flights!

As part of my winding, word-spreading return journey from Goa, I managed to see most of my wide-spread family. This re-union culminated in an evening of wonderful avant-garde theatre in Paris for Easter with my uncle John as the main man in the play, befitting his new role as patriarch of the Arnolds.

For being such a homeless, wandering, wonderer, I have found myself to be deliciously delighted at being part of such and extended family of exquisite eccentrics!

Of course, I have also found a way to recreate familiar feelings in all the far-flung corners of the world I have had the privilege of playing in. My fortune has been to be adopted by families everywhere... Friends, family and football...oh, and some food too!

And now that I can fly with new wings to
Girl walking dogGirl walking dogGirl walking dog

Who is kidding who?
share footballs and smiles, I also wanted to share a chance to fly around the world, going against the rush, eating slow food and taking the time to actually talk over glasses of wine or fresh papaya pulp. Join Tripping.com and go back in time, stepping into a world where people come first and the machine stays in the volcano!

So, with high hopes, unexpected expectations and a happy heart, I leave for an African Adventure and playful philanthropy... who wants to grow up anyway?

Smiles and thanks for the Footballs!

May thy Cup be full!


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

MagicMagic
Magic

Footballsmiles
El PadronEl Padron
El Padron

Uncle John
Golden lightsGolden lights
Golden lights

What is realty?
horse go roundhorse go round
horse go round

World go round?
Karuna and LucieKaruna and Lucie
Karuna and Lucie

Island girls
ParisParis
Paris

Nice day, place
Tower of LightTower of Light
Tower of Light

Eiffel in the window!
statuestatue
statue

Is that you?
The WayThe Way
The Way

Which one?
The OrganiserThe Organiser
The Organiser

Many flags, one ball
The BallsThe Balls
The Balls

...even closer now!
CountdownCountdown
Countdown

Time to play!
The BallThe Ball
The Ball

Made out of plastic ;)
The FieldThe Field
The Field

Quaint lakeside venue
The CaptainThe Captain
The Captain

Amico Noce
The TeamsThe Teams
The Teams

Fairplay?
The SmileThe Smile
The Smile

FC Espanol Neuchatel and Footballsmiles
CheeseCheese
Cheese

Fondue of you friends
The CupThe Cup
The Cup

perhaps....
lights over berkeleylights over berkeley
lights over berkeley

Balls of effect
The GameThe Game
The Game

will be played and shared!


21st April 2010

esta última foto...
...el del contraluz, eres tú Mel? ... es Jesucristo en su última cena? ... es Dios? uy que cosas dices lokita!!! ay que ver como disfruto sus travelblogs Sr. Arnold muchas gracias guapo! good fortune!!! XXX
23rd April 2010

Unforeseen changes.
Well, there is a silver lining ... I love your blog, your thoughts, your fotos .. thank you. Happy travelling, Melchior, and keep on with the good work.
23rd April 2010

Viva la familia!!! y vivan los novios!!!:) Bon voyage,xxxooo
24th April 2010

Bon voyage
Thanks for the fotos melchior if you can unite this family in peace and with laughter ,you can unite the world.(.I Ching ) can't wait to see Africa through your eyes! Blessings and baraka ( good fortune..luck and all ) y Amor..
25th April 2010

Eyjafjallajokull stories
I got my flight cancelled also I was going to Paris! lol big hug from kooks and us to you bro and of course all the...... TAnaNANA, TAnaNANA, Snap Snap, the Arnold fa-mi-ly! DOONG
14th May 2010

Checking in
Great photos. Thank you

Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0604s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb