Trip To Cape Town - Day 3


Advertisement
Africa
December 26th 2011
Published: December 26th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Change of plans...

I thought I was going to walk up Table Mountain today, but Kees (Case) and Ian, a couple staying at the guest house asked me to go to the vineyards with them today. I wanted to go there, but figured it was something that would have to wait for another visit. When they offered, I accepted. .. And I am glad I did.

Today was so much fun, we hit the road about 1030AM and drove for about 45 minutes. Apparently, there are close to 2,000 vineyards in the region and we were going to try to put a dent in as many as possible. We hit 4.

The geography here changes with every mile you travel on the highways. It is incredible to think I am here and taking part in it all. I am really living the Life of Riley... I don’t know who Riley is, but I am greatful for the life I am living.

It seems that the lifestyle here is to drink wine. When you look around, people are drinking wine with lunch, with dinner, late at night, and at every other chance they have.

We did wine tastings at each vineyard. I pretended I knew what I was doing. We sampled whites, reds, ports, sparkling wines, etc. We laughed our way through them all and came home with wine to take back to our “home countries”.

When we got home, we sat out on the terrace with the other people staying here, drank more wine and got caught up on everyone’s day. What a brilliant way to spend Boxing Day.

Maybe tomorrow I will climb a mountain.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



27th December 2011

I have to admit...I was not quite with you when you were taking about toilets that didn't flush...but I could see myself with you in the vineyards in cape town! I am glad to see you are getting the most out of your new life!
29th December 2011

An SA wine tour?? GET OUT!! Ya, mountain climbing can wait. You don't need a sherpa to drink wine. Wise choice Grasshopper.
31st December 2011

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!!!!
Bob I am loving the Blog, as always. I understand you hitting the wall at the six month mark. Totally understandable. But you are of good strong stock and you will get over the hump. The photos are more amazing with each Blog entry. Missing you. Love Deb

Tot: 0.511s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0379s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb