unbelievable


Advertisement
Africa
November 12th 2011
Published: November 13th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I am appalled… at the cost of cereal in Uganda, my staple food at home for breakfast, lunch and tea. The selection first of all isn’t great, it’s Weetabix or cornflakes, both of which I wouldn’t of eaten at home unless I loaded on the sugar.

I think it is right to start off with the basics of cereal eating. Pretty much all the time, it is better off buying the cheaper cereals, not only as they cost less but also they taste soo much better; the only exception to this rule is raison wheats, when it is better to buy Kellogg’s than supermarkets own brand.

Below is my list of favourite cereals in no particular order;

Malt wheats
Raison wheats
Choco snaps
Special flakes
Fruit and Fibre
Frosties (but has to be eaten dry, or if you add milk it hased to be eaten quickly but as a general rule if you want to appreciate the cereal, eat it dry (if you do add milk to Frosties I think it should belong to the ‘second rate cereals’ (see below))).

Below is a list of my second rate cereals;

Cheerios
Wheetos
Bran flakes
Frosties with milk

As you can see Weetabix and Cornflakes do not appear on either of my top 2 lists. How am I supposed to cope? Not only are they not nice, they also cost a bomb (not that I had a bomb to exchange). A box of 900g Weetabix sets me back about £4.50 and a box of cornflakes something similar. To make sure I continue to get the cereal vitamin into my body we continue to buy Weetabix but I live for the day we can eat proper cereal again.

Be rest assured though, we have found suitable cheese, honey and apples that will make a good sandwich.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.708s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0507s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb