Durban!


Advertisement
Africa
August 25th 2011
Published: August 26th 2011
Edit Blog Post

This is my 14th day in Durban and my first blog update! Sorry its been so long coming, I didnt realise how hard it would be to get time online!

But hello from the African sun 😊
Its a beautiful Friday afternoon and I'll attempt to get you up to date with the happenings of my life!

So I arrived here last Saturday night and went to the house I will be staying in for 3 weeks. It is a childrens home for 4 beautiful kids / teenagers, and 25 year old Colleen looks after them there. I have already grown to LOVE them and feel so part of this 'family'. There is a 2 year old girl, who is a rascal but a delight, her 16 year old mum, who turns 17 today actually! 10 year old boy and a 12 year old girl. They all have tragic stories but gorgeous hearts. We live in a small community, and I love walking around in the afternoons as all the kids come out of school. There is a lot of unemployment, and people sitting around with nothing to do, but they are all so friendly even though I stand out a bit!

So I'm helping look after the kids i live with, but while they are at school I walk across our dirt road to work at a creche for kids from 0 - 6 years.
It is run out of the teachers house and since starting to help there I am pretty much left to look after all 20 of them! Which is more than a handful but good fun, and a good break for the lady who usually runs it. We feed them breakfast and lunch, and their parents can go and work or go to school during the day. Next thursday we are hosting a big Spring Party at the creche.. which is exciting for the kids and a lot of organising for me and the other teacher.

I am also going into a community nearby to help at a soupkitchen / cafe that feeds over 200 kids after school and gives out bread and vegetables to families. It is also a community space for hanging out and a safe space for kids. The best thing about that is that it is run by a group of volunteers from the community.. and they are SO much fun. These ladies know how to worship and pray.. chat and bicker.. and have a good time. They have SUCH a heart for their community and an amazing love for their Saviour. It has been so inspiring. They have prayer in this space every Tuesday and it is so powerful to see them praying in the middle of the community with such passion, hope and conviction. God speaks so clearly to them as they seek God diligently.
I have seen the incredible difference that God's presence makes in people and communities.. something I doubted before.

The organisation that funds this, also funds the creche and an arts centre where kids come and dance and do other workshops.. I think this is so crucial for the transformation of any community! 😊 They also help individuals with schooling and employment, and do makeovers of the homes, schools and police station.. all of which have had a profound impact on the sense of dignity and safety .. crime rates have dropped dramatically since their involvement there.
Its cool to come into the story at this point.. where progress is underway, God is already moving and the fruits of the hard work are starting to grow. Of course, the work is still HUGE and the poverty and pain heartbreaking, but I feel privilegd to be part of this for a few short weeks.. i get a window into peoples lives and that is an honour.

I havnt seen much else of Durban, but Im going around the city and to the beach tomorrow. I have a week left here and then i am moving houses to work with a different, but partnered, organisation. So thats exciting!

The church that helps fund all these projects is called His Church, and its been fun going along to their services and getting to know a few people there. Its been challenging as I talk to people who see the world differently to me. But of course, those conversations are the most important as they open my eyes and widen my perspective.

Missing everyone in Sydney more than I ever thought I would! And as I answer everyones curious questions about Australia, I realise more and more how blessed I am and how much I love my home!
I dont think I could live here, though I'm loving it.. but the time i am here is growing me so much!

Hope i can update more often,
Peace out homes

Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0349s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb