Getting started


Advertisement
Africa
August 12th 2010
Published: August 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

The moment has finally arrived folks! The decision to commit to a blog concerning my upcoming contract on board a cruise liner did not come lightly. The reason behind this undertaking is primarily due to some in my inner circle asking me to make my travel writing a bit more formal than the odd email. (which, let’s admit, and you will know all too well if you are a traveller yourself, becomes disturbingly infrequent once you have found a great party bunch to hang with and being at the pub has suddenly topped your priority of sending news home!)
My journey starts in the beginning of September where I join the vessel in Germany to do the Trans-Atlantic trip heading to America. To my horror I recently found out that this is the same route embarked on by the Titanic. We all know what happened to her, but I have a slight inkling that all will be fine! Should this blog not be updated at least every three days, please send the coast guard out somewhere between Southhampton and New York. Much appreciated!
Ports of call include destinations in USA, Canada, the Dominican Republic, Jamaica, Mexico, and Bermuda and then next year we arrive in the Mediterranean to visit some amazing places there. So, without doubt, you will get to know about numerous places.
I am fortunate enough to have secured a position which does not involve having me worked to death at the standard 14 hours a day like the rest of my colleagues, so intend of venturing out at ports to give you the lowdown. Naturally this is largely dependent on whether I attended a crew party the previous evening or not. This will be my 4th ship worked on and surprisingly I cannot wait to be “home” with maritime laws, harsh rules, and totally losing my right to be a person. Working aboard can be said to be similar to being in the army. Some people dig it, others hate it. I gather you can figure out which category I fall under!


Advertisement



13th August 2010

blogging!
Oh Mundolina! you have made my day my week my month my year! Sooooo glad you are going to take this venture of your travels in a blog. And by the way this old[ish] lady couldnt be more proud of you! Love you oceans and oceans full and am really going to miss you. The smile on my dial is just so wide! thank you for using your God given talent, you wont regret it, aim for having it published too!
13th August 2010

Woo Hoo!!
Yay Bazil! Dori is back! Just keep swimming,Just keep swimming,Just keep swimming swimming swimming!! You better stay in touch on the ship that will remain unamed and with the company that shall not be named! You will be missed! :( But brush up on your trivial pursuit knowledge coz I'm gonna challenge you when u get home!!! Love u long time!!!
13th August 2010

Mandy
Am I salavating? Of course I am. I envy you Mandzy Wendzy. I will be following you on your adventure.

Tot: 0.374s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.3307s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb